Cucumber Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is my recipe, and I want to explain to the last poster why I use Greek style yogurt. The cucumbers will weep a tremendous amount of liquid, especially if you let this sit all day or overnight. If you do not use a firmer yogurt to start, you will end up with a watery Raita. Since you used regular yogurt and actually added water, perhaps you either used fewer cucumbers, did not let yours sit in the refrigerator to blend the flavors as long as I did, or perhaps you just like it watery. While I agree that Raita should be saucy, I do not think it should be watery, hence the Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Quick tip to make everything easier and a nice presentation as well: if you have a good vegetable peeler, once you have the outer peeled off, use the peeler to make wide, thin strips of the cucumber - then you don't have to seed or chop anything, just keep making strips till you hit the seeds. Also, it was good, but I thought there was too much yogurt. But maybe my cucumbers were just small. Sounds like a personal problem. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great Raita. I prepared it with one small addition and that was adding one teaspoon of cumin. It provided it with an exceptional taste and authenticity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
After spending a lot of time in India you learn to loooove raita! But this is definitely not Indian raita. I should have known when I saw the mint, but I figured I'd try it anyway. The only change I made was to dice the cucumber. It didn't taste bad, it was just very minty and not what I was looking for. I'll continue to keep my eyes peeled for a good mixed raita recipe (cucumber, tomato, onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe! I have been searching for a cucumber raita recipes for a while and this one is the best I've found. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was terrific. I made the recipe exactly as written. The first night I served it with Tandoori Chicken. The second night we made pitas stuffed with cucumber raita, leftover tandoori chicken, and couscous. A light, refreshing summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I prepared this as more of a condiment than a salad, because that's what I was after for my purpose. It's also awesome as a salad! I used 1 regular, peeled cuke and shredded it with the corse side of a box grater. I put it in a fine sieve and sprinkled it with some kosher salt, stirred it well and sprinkled another pinch of salt on it. I let this drain @ 15-20 minutes while I assembled the other ingredients. This draws out much of the moisture and keeps the cuke from watering down the raita. Otherwise, I followed the recipie as printed, cutting all in half since I only used one cuke. This was a FANTASTIC topping for Yakuta's Indian Style Sheekh Kabab elsewhere on this site. In fact, the two go together so well, I'll not make the kababs without this raita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I used regular yogurt instead and it worked well. It wasn't as firm as it would have been if I had used the Greek Yogurt (which I knew ahead of time). Goes VERY well with the Moroccan Couscous and Lamb Tagine recipes. I served it alongside the two recipes noted and it went perfectly. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylynnz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I strained regular yogurt through a strainer over a bowl for about two hours before mixing. This makes the consistancy thicker like Greek yogurt, which we can't get in my small town. Still, I agree that it probably should have been thinner actually because restaurant raita is much more like a thin sauce. This raita was okay as a condiment for rice biryani and on top of naan, but it was missing something. We couldn't figure it out. Maybe some cumin would help the flavor. I will definetly keep searching for more raita recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteDavisLies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was so yummy! I forgot the lemon and added some cilantro, but I know that would have made it even better. Also, I chopped up the cukes after I sliced them to make it easier for dipping. Definetely try to make it a little early. I didn't let mine sit too long, but when I went back to it later, I could detect more mint. It goes good with Indian aloo matar gobi and helps cool the spiciness. Also, I dipped chapati bread in it. Nice healthy dinner. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States