Cucumber Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
This was so yummy! I forgot the lemon and added some cilantro, but I know that would have made it even better. Also, I chopped up the cukes after I sliced them to make it easier for dipping. Definetely try to make it a little early. I didn't let mine sit too long, but when I went back to it later, I could detect more mint. It goes good with Indian aloo matar gobi and helps cool the spiciness. Also, I dipped chapati bread in it. Nice healthy dinner. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I don't really understand why this recipe calls for Greek yogurt, as it is one of the thickest yogurt you can buy. Raita is supposed to be a saucy texture....seems like this would be a good tzatziki recipe instead. That said I used regular yogurt and watered it down a bit. Left out the lemon and sugar and added cilantro instead of mint. With these changes it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is my recipe, and I want to explain to the last poster why I use Greek style yogurt. The cucumbers will weep a tremendous amount of liquid, especially if you let this sit all day or overnight. If you do not use a firmer yogurt to start, you will end up with a watery Raita. Since you used regular yogurt and actually added water, perhaps you either used fewer cucumbers, did not let yours sit in the refrigerator to blend the flavors as long as I did, or perhaps you just like it watery. While I agree that Raita should be saucy, I do not think it should be watery, hence the Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I strained regular yogurt through a strainer over a bowl for about two hours before mixing. This makes the consistancy thicker like Greek yogurt, which we can't get in my small town. Still, I agree that it probably should have been thinner actually because restaurant raita is much more like a thin sauce. This raita was okay as a condiment for rice biryani and on top of naan, but it was missing something. We couldn't figure it out. Maybe some cumin would help the flavor. I will definetly keep searching for more raita recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BetteDavisLies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milan, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Jackson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
Quick tip to make everything easier and a nice presentation as well: if you have a good vegetable peeler, once you have the outer peeled off, use the peeler to make wide, thin strips of the cucumber - then you don't have to seed or chop anything, just keep making strips till you hit the seeds. Also, it was good, but I thought there was too much yogurt. But maybe my cucumbers were just small. Sounds like a personal problem. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I used regular yogurt instead and it worked well. It wasn't as firm as it would have been if I had used the Greek Yogurt (which I knew ahead of time). Goes VERY well with the Moroccan Couscous and Lamb Tagine recipes. I served it alongside the two recipes noted and it went perfectly. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babylynnz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was terrific. I made the recipe exactly as written. The first night I served it with Tandoori Chicken. The second night we made pitas stuffed with cucumber raita, leftover tandoori chicken, and couscous. A light, refreshing summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Excellent recipe! I have been searching for a cucumber raita recipes for a while and this one is the best I've found. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
Good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Darby, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
Great. We actually made it with regular yogurt (low fat), used the vegetable peeler for the cucumber, used dried mint (1/3 the amount), and did not let it sit (just ate it right away). It was close enough to Indian restaurant raita to satisfy us. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States