Cucumber Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was a nice cool counterpart to the Chicken Jalfrezi from this site. I used a peeler to remove the cucumber skin and cut thin slices down to the seeds as another poster suggested, then chopped the slices. It worked great! I had plain yogurt and drained it overnight to make it the thicker Greek style. I doubled the sugar to offset the tanginess of the yogurt and added a teaspoon of cumin (which I really like) to make the flavor more complex. I gave it half a day for the flavors to meld, then added the cucumbers, so it wouldn't be too watery. After eating, some was left over and the next day the cucumbers had released some liquid. This was easily fixed with a few stirs though. Overall, the flavor was good. I found it was best paired with the Chicken Jalfrezi. Would be great to cool some of the spicier Indian dishes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I love raita but this was missing a lot of flavor and was the wrong consistency in my opinion. The raita I've had is very soupy and this isn't that way at all, it was too thick. I think 2 cucumbers was way too many, 1 would have been much better but that still doesn't fix the spice and consistency issue. It wasn't terrible but if you enjoy a nice Indian raita then keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Ideal basic raita recipe! I've made others, and using Greek yogurt really is key. This is surprisingly delicious, the fresh mint really goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This raita went really well with our Indian dinner last night. Because I was making other dishes that called for plain yogurt, though, I bypassed Greek yogurt and used regular -- the results were just fine. I also halved the amount of cucumber that I used, as I wanted this to be an accompaniment to my tikka masala, not it's own dish, and I opted for dried mint since I already had it on hand. Perfectly satisfactory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Used one big cucumber, seeded but not peeled. Came out very nice, but I ended up adding a fair bit more mint than the recipe suggested. Very nice flavour, went great with the lamb tagine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I made this as a side dish for the suggested Lamb Tagine (a 5-star dish) to go along with the Moroccan Couscous (also 5 stars). I don't care for plain yogurt, Greek or otherwise, and thought perhaps this recipe would add enough other flavors to make it tasty. Unfortunately, I was wrong. I found that adding a significant, unmeasured amount of honey to the dish when it is served makes it much more palatable (i.e. helps mask the yogurt flavor), but I still won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Regarding "Greek style" yogurt, if you cannot find it and you don't want watery Raita, then you can add a Tbls or so of thick sour cream. This will help bind it. Also, you can chop the cukes in advance, sprinkle with the salt and let sit for an hour. Then drain off the liquid before adding the rest of the ingredients. Lastly, I completely omit the lemon juice and just serve lemon wedges on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
This was easy and perfect. Made it exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrena Ramsey
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
After spending a lot of time in India you learn to loooove raita! But this is definitely not Indian raita. I should have known when I saw the mint, but I figured I'd try it anyway. The only change I made was to dice the cucumber. It didn't taste bad, it was just very minty and not what I was looking for. I'll continue to keep my eyes peeled for a good mixed raita recipe (cucumber, tomato, onion).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aiea, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This was delicious! Changes I made: - used strained nonfat plain yogurt (don't have Greek yogurt available) - omitted mint - added garlic powder - added cumin - grated the cucumbers and pressed them between two paper towels to strain them - and I ate it right away because I didn't want to wait. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naha, Okinawa, Japan
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States