Cucumber Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent Raita recipe. To be able to eat it right away, I substituted sour cream for greek yoghurt, squeezed the cucumber after I shredded it, and added a bit of extra lemon and salt to compensate for the 'lightly sweeter' flavor of the sour cream. It might be lousy for the 'less fat' option, but worked great for the 'serving immediately'. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Good but needs a little more soiling than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Delicious! I served this as part of an Indian-themed meal and it was perfect. I almost didn't seed the cucumbers and I might try that next time as I like raita a little more "soupy", as another reviewer mentioned. I think the cucumbers would have released a bit more liquid if I hadn't seeded them. But that's just a matter of preference - otherwise, this was perfect. A little cilantro would have been nice, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delightful. It is a gift along with some lamb kabobs that I am also giving them. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this exactly as specified in the recipe and served it with the Lamb Tangine and Moroccan Couscous as recommended. This dish is a very nice accompaniment to the lamb. This is the first time I've had raita so I have nothing to compare it to. I will be doubling, maybe even tripling the mint in this recipe in the future. As it is written, I have the urge to add dill, but I think a stronger mint flavor sans dill may be even better. The cool cucumber, mint, yogurt, and lemon are just such a great combination! I think dill might weigh it down and make it more like sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I added cilantro and dill to taste, and it was delicious! For 2 cups of yogurt I only used one hothouse cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was a nice cool counterpart to the Chicken Jalfrezi from this site. I used a peeler to remove the cucumber skin and cut thin slices down to the seeds as another poster suggested, then chopped the slices. It worked great! I had plain yogurt and drained it overnight to make it the thicker Greek style. I doubled the sugar to offset the tanginess of the yogurt and added a teaspoon of cumin (which I really like) to make the flavor more complex. I gave it half a day for the flavors to meld, then added the cucumbers, so it wouldn't be too watery. After eating, some was left over and the next day the cucumbers had released some liquid. This was easily fixed with a few stirs though. Overall, the flavor was good. I found it was best paired with the Chicken Jalfrezi. Would be great to cool some of the spicier Indian dishes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
I was very disappointed with this recipe. I love raita but this was missing a lot of flavor and was the wrong consistency in my opinion. The raita I've had is very soupy and this isn't that way at all, it was too thick. I think 2 cucumbers was way too many, 1 would have been much better but that still doesn't fix the spice and consistency issue. It wasn't terrible but if you enjoy a nice Indian raita then keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Ideal basic raita recipe! I've made others, and using Greek yogurt really is key. This is surprisingly delicious, the fresh mint really goes a long way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
This raita went really well with our Indian dinner last night. Because I was making other dishes that called for plain yogurt, though, I bypassed Greek yogurt and used regular -- the results were just fine. I also halved the amount of cucumber that I used, as I wanted this to be an accompaniment to my tikka masala, not it's own dish, and I opted for dried mint since I already had it on hand. Perfectly satisfactory!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States