Cucumber Raita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
Really good, but just a tad too much lemon for my tastes. It paired great with the Moroccan Couscous, as mentioned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly, but was extremely disappointed. I love Indian food, love cucumbers and salads but I couldn't even eat this! It was so tart from the massive amount of yogurt and you expected it to be a little sweet but it wasn't at all and the texture was gritty. I used a good quality Greek Yogurt (plain) and large cucumbers. I Can't figure out what went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy K.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by buckinz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Excellent Raita recipe. To be able to eat it right away, I substituted sour cream for greek yoghurt, squeezed the cucumber after I shredded it, and added a bit of extra lemon and salt to compensate for the 'lightly sweeter' flavor of the sour cream. It might be lousy for the 'less fat' option, but worked great for the 'serving immediately'. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Good but needs a little more soiling than recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Delicious! I served this as part of an Indian-themed meal and it was perfect. I almost didn't seed the cucumbers and I might try that next time as I like raita a little more "soupy", as another reviewer mentioned. I think the cucumbers would have released a bit more liquid if I hadn't seeded them. But that's just a matter of preference - otherwise, this was perfect. A little cilantro would have been nice, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Delightful. It is a gift along with some lamb kabobs that I am also giving them. thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
I made this exactly as specified in the recipe and served it with the Lamb Tangine and Moroccan Couscous as recommended. This dish is a very nice accompaniment to the lamb. This is the first time I've had raita so I have nothing to compare it to. I will be doubling, maybe even tripling the mint in this recipe in the future. As it is written, I have the urge to add dill, but I think a stronger mint flavor sans dill may be even better. The cool cucumber, mint, yogurt, and lemon are just such a great combination! I think dill might weigh it down and make it more like sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I added cilantro and dill to taste, and it was delicious! For 2 cups of yogurt I only used one hothouse cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This was a nice cool counterpart to the Chicken Jalfrezi from this site. I used a peeler to remove the cucumber skin and cut thin slices down to the seeds as another poster suggested, then chopped the slices. It worked great! I had plain yogurt and drained it overnight to make it the thicker Greek style. I doubled the sugar to offset the tanginess of the yogurt and added a teaspoon of cumin (which I really like) to make the flavor more complex. I gave it half a day for the flavors to meld, then added the cucumbers, so it wouldn't be too watery. After eating, some was left over and the next day the cucumbers had released some liquid. This was easily fixed with a few stirs though. Overall, the flavor was good. I found it was best paired with the Chicken Jalfrezi. Would be great to cool some of the spicier Indian dishes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States