Cucumber Peanut Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
This is a good salad to serve alongside spicy Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Fabulous. Also was leery of the butter, but it was perfect. My cousin loves both cucumbers and peanuts and went crazy for the flavor.. Great, east, tasty, healthy. Bravo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
really good. I did sub olive oil, and I also added some minced red onion. I diced the cucumbers into really small pieces so the whole thing had a salsa-like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2006
This was very unique! The flavor was fantastic. At our family dinner, guests either liked it a lot or not at all. I followed advice of other reviewers and used olive oil. I will make this again, I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
We really like this salad. I use olive oil, and have used a variety of nuts. The longer it sits before you eat it, the spicier it gets!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Strange dish. Don't use butter-- sub olive or other oil. When you mix the buttery cumin and chili pepper in with the cool cuc's the butter turns solid again and resists any sort of even distribution, clumping in an unhelpful way. My in-laws and man liked this a lot better than I did. I wouldn't make it again, but they snapped it up, so maybe it's one of those love it or hate it recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
Definitely unique, but just not my cup of tea. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
This was interesting. I was a little leery of putting butter on cucumber, but it was very subtle. I used cashews because I don't like peanuts, and it was a delicous combination. The cumin and chile pepper gave the dish a unique flavor, and the aroma was wonderful. I may try it with olive oil, just because I really prefer not to use butter when I cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I really cannot praise this highly enough. An unexpected lovely flavor fest. Used 1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper to sub for the chili pepper, and added it to butter with the cumin. Left out the sugar by accident, will not add it in the future, as the salad was delightful - guests loved it too! Thank you for a terrific post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUSIC_MINX

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
This is a wonderful summer salad, and is great with Indian food. I added very small amounts of red, orange and yellow bell peppers for a little more color. My husband doesn't like things too hot, so I took the seeds out of the chili before cutting it up and putting it in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Adrienne's Cucumber Salad

This refreshing salad sets off crisp vegetables with a tangy marinade.

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States