Cucumber Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe to use the cucumbers in your garden that got away from you. You know the big giants. Or even the smaller ones that you have 24 of them hanging around. DO NOT skip the step of salting the cucumbers and letting them rest. Mine sat for about 3 hours before I used them and I was amazed at how much water the salt pulled from them. The taste and texture is a lot like zucchini bread. I baked mine in 5 - 3 1/2" x 6" pans, 2 without pecans and 3 with pecans. They were done in 38 minutes. I have 2 more cukes on my counter that I'm baking 10 mini loaves to freeze. My DS loved this and wants to take a few back to school with him. Our favorite way to eat this bread is toasted with a thin layer of butter (the guys) dry (for me) for breakfast. Thanks Marcella for posting this recipe - it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This was great- moist and flavorful. The cucumber taste was good and not overwhelming. The only things I did differently was I drained my cucumbers for at least an hour and I used walnuts instead of pecans. I will make again and pass this recipe on to others. Thanks Marcella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
Great! Replaced 3/4 of the oil with apple sauce otherwise kept it as written. I had so many cucumbers this year in my garden that this was an absolutely perfect way to utilize them all. Made 6 loaves and froze 5. Very yummy! Great recipe! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
we loved this.. bf said he was pleasantly surprised by the recipe bc he was like cucumbers?? .. only difference was i did half and half with the oil and applesauce.. i used allspice in place of the nutmeg and cloves.. for the nuts i used a blend of walnuts and pecans.. i only made enough for one loaf and i used my conventional oven.. i nearly burnt the thing to a crisp so beware if you're using anything other than a regular oven.. ty for the recipe.. bf says it reminds him of xmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by just_jam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duarte, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OHIO MOM
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Very yummy! Great way to use up cucumbers. We only used 1/2 the amount of oil and the rest applesauce. It did take some time to peel and shred, but is worth it! We used walnuts since we didn't have any pecans. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
another perfect way to use up too many cucumbers. I used unsweetened applesauce instead of the oil to make it a bit healthier. No one tasted the cucumber! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Fabulously moist and full of flavor! Wonderfully creative use for all these beautiful, home gardened cucumbers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This bread is delicious! Super moist, it tastes alot like zucchini or pumpkin bread. I made my batch a little bigger (3 large loaves), added some shredded zucchini and ground flaxseed and put in a little less sugar than the recipe stated. A little healthier for you and it still tasted great. This is a great way to use all the extra cukes in your garden that you can't get around to eat or pickling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is absolutely wonderful!It's moist and flavorful- whole family loved it. I even had my mother and mother-in-law asking for the recipe! I also used only 1/2 the oil and substituted applesauce for the other 1/2. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Great way to use up a bumper crop of cucumbers. I drained overnight and it was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States