Cucumber Nut Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This was definitely different. I was surprised by the amount of cucumber it called for. Other "veggie" breads such as squash & zucchini bread only call for 1 cup. Or maybe since I blended my cukes in my Ninja, I ended up with more per cup? Anyway, the little ones liked it and I found that, toasted with butter, I could eat it. The cucumber flavor is very strong and hangs around. Since I have a lot of cukes from a friend's garden, I will try this again, but reduce the amount of cucumber and see how that works.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by romans8_38-39
Living In: Forsyth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
If you are making cucumber bread, you are going to expect it to taste a little bit like cucumber. We thought it tasted like pumpkin bread, and we didn't notice the cucumber taste very much except as an after taste. I did not peel and seed all my cucumbers as they were directly out of my garden and did not have tough skins or large seeds. I too substituted applesauce for the oil. It baked well and sliced easily. I am adding raisins to the bread today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I will try this tomorrow, but rather than wait for the cucumbers to drain, just use a ricer to squeeze out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Great recipe! I have too many cucumbers and was looking for something different. This was very moist and had a great flavor. I did not find the cucumber over powering at all. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I missed the step to drain cucumbers and it still turned out great. Making more to put in freezer to save for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Lynn
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
This was great- moist and flavorful. The cucumber taste was good and not overwhelming. The only things I did differently was I drained my cucumbers for at least an hour and I used walnuts instead of pecans. I will make again and pass this recipe on to others. Thanks Marcella!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Great way to use up a bumper crop of cucumbers. I drained overnight and it was moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
This is absolutely wonderful!It's moist and flavorful- whole family loved it. I even had my mother and mother-in-law asking for the recipe! I also used only 1/2 the oil and substituted applesauce for the other 1/2. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
The texture of this loaf was lovely. I actually drained my cucumbers for over 24 hours and it was I think this made a difference. The taste was good except for the overwhelming flavour of the cucumbers! I like cucumbers, but I am not sure the flavour lends itself to this kind of loaf. But if that is what you are looking for, than this recipe will fit the bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Piques

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
we loved this.. bf said he was pleasantly surprised by the recipe bc he was like cucumbers?? .. only difference was i did half and half with the oil and applesauce.. i used allspice in place of the nutmeg and cloves.. for the nuts i used a blend of walnuts and pecans.. i only made enough for one loaf and i used my conventional oven.. i nearly burnt the thing to a crisp so beware if you're using anything other than a regular oven.. ty for the recipe.. bf says it reminds him of xmas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Nut Bread Baked in a Jar

See how to bake individual mini-loaves of banana bread in canning jars.

Extreme Banana Nut Bread

This banana bread is flavorful, moist, and addictive.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States