Cucumber Gyro Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Its great. not only with Gyros but also with some pasta and fresh cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Hastings

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
This is an excellent gyros dip, very close to what I grew up eating in Cicero/Chicago. I added thin sliced onion to mine and it completed the taste for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I liked the fact that I had everything on hand to make this, but I really prefer the yogurt based gyro sauce. This is great in a pinch, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I used plain lowfat or no fat yougurt rather than sour cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry Daugherty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oil City, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dade City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I tasted it after an hour, but let it sit overnight and it was much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Absolutely delicious and definitely better after it sat a night. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sides Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johannesburg, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Not bad. I subbed 1/2 c. yogurt for 1/2 c. of the sour cream, and added a Tbl. of sugar, as well as some feta cheese, crumbled. I shoulda thrown it all in the blender, b/c I like a thinner sauce. This recipe was simple, and it was okay, but I may still use another recipe if I have more time on my hands next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kimble

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Missouri, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SWEETJAM
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Not bad, not bad. I think I prefer the more traditional smooth sauce that they serve with a gyro. I made it first thing this am and served tonight. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
As a greek american living in Greece just a few suggestions. Make sure you drain as much juice from the cucumber before mixing. Use then about a 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil in the mixture to smooth it out. In Greece no one uses mustard so that is up to taste of anyone. It is best if it sits about 8 hours in fridge and put a piece of loaf bread on top so it will soak up extra moisture from cucumber. Remove bread before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
653 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Perfect! I used an english cucumber with the peel on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hickman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sean's Falafel and Cucumber Sauce

Simple and quick recipe to prepare that delivers lots of Mediterranean flavors.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States