Cucumber-Cilantro Raita (Yogurt) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Good! A nice balance of flavours. Second time round I added 1 clove of very finely diced garlic, which I thought worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yokosuka, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Personally I think this would be better pureed and served as a dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This is very good -- I adapted it to what I had on hand. I used Greek yogurt, Persian cucumbers, and a half a bunch of cilantro, and insead of chiles, I used about a half cup of chipotle salsa that I had. I blended the cilantro, yogurt, and salsa in the blender til smooth, and mixed it with thinly sliced cucumbers. Persain cucumbers are seedless. It was incredibly good. Sort of Indian-Greek-Mexican!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruthie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ildefonso
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I have an Indian friend who used to cook lunch for me and I love her food! I really loved her yogurt Raita. This recipe is so good! Just like hers. The only thing I did differently is I added tomatoes to it because she always does. Yummy, so refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ildefonso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This rendition of raita is perfect. I didn't change a thing. I thought the salt would be too much, but it was just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
This was OK, but a little bland. I'd make it again, but would probably add some mustard seed or something with a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wimberley, Texas, USA
Photo by Osakachan
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Very good recipe! Tastes very similar to what we get at our favorite Indian Restaurant in Los Angeles. Some changes: I didn't add the chile pepper, since I would like to keep the yogurt mild. Also, I didn't seed and dice the cucumber, I just used a grater to julienne it and stopped to the point where I would reach the seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Fantastic - made with Athenos strained Greek-style yogurt (extra thick and rich even though it's fat free), added tomato and purple onion - truly wonderful! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mississippimarion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
i loved this! i love the flavor of cilantro, but sometimes find it overpowering. it's definitely not overpowering in this, but the flavor comes through - it's a perfect ratio. i found it a bit salty, but i think i'm on the low end of salt tolerance, so i think it's just the right amount of salt for most people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chikalin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 10, 2011
perfect without the chile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Summer Berry Parfait with Yogurt and Granola

Start your day with a yogurt parfait with lots of fresh fruit & crunchy granola.

All about Yogurt

Meet the creamy fermented dairy treat with the yummy tart taste.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States