Cucumber-Avocado Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! I don't know why the recipe was edited to say the cucumber seeds should be removed. I know the creator of this recipe and she just lightly peels the cucumber and uses the whole thing. She uses more cucumber for a dressing, and less for a dip. When I make it, I use a heaping tablespoon or two of garlic powder instead of fresh garlic because I like that taste better. I love it because I actually enjoy eating raw vegees when I have this to dip them into!!!! I crave it now and have to have some in the fridge all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a refreshing alternative to fatty, oil laden salad dressings. It is a very balanced dressing, and you don't have to worry about overdoing it. My only suggestion is that if you are watching your sodium intake, try using Mrs Dash instead. And if you really want to cut calories and fat content, instead of using the 1/3 cup of olive oil, try using almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I'm about to have seconds, this dressing tastes great! Pure and healthy. To give it more kick, I added extra lemon juice and garlic instead of upping the salt content. Yummy on a spinach salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I am not a big dressing person when it comes to salads so I wanted something a little different and with a refreshing taste. I love avocados, so this seemed like a perfect dressing for me. Absolutely LOVE IT and agree is a nice dip as well. I did add 2 additional garlic cloves because I like the added bite. From a time preparation perspective, you really don't need to cube the avocados if they are ripe, they blend up with no issues. Would highly recommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
When I first made this, it seemed like it was missing something. But after I let it sit in the fridge a few hours and allowed the flavors to mingle, well... that was pretty much all it needed! Good stuff! :-) In addition to using as a salad dressing, it works great as a spread in a wrap with smoked salmon and sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I used sour cream instead of the oil and lime juice instead of lemon, and this came out great. It is a little thick, but it still worked as a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I just got done making this almost exactly as written (lemons can actually be hard to come by in Mexico - so I used lime juice instead) and it is wonderful! I truly enjoyed cleaning out the blender and licking the spatula! I'm anxious to taste it again after it has set for a day or so. Thank you for a great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wow! I had to change the recipe a bit because I didn't have any cilantro. I took this idea but substituted about 2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh mint for the cilantro. I also added a bit of plain yogurt. It made a delicious dip/dressing. Thank you for the great idea! Best after being refrigerated over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is a very simple recipe, Each flavor blends beautifully as wll as allowing each flavor to stand on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
This dressing is the equivalent of ambrosia of the Gods. The health benefits alone made me want to try it, but the taste kept me coming back. I've since twisted this recipe into so many unique variations, the possibilities are as limitless as your own imagination. This must have recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States