Cucumber-Avocado Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
I love this recipe! I don't know why the recipe was edited to say the cucumber seeds should be removed. I know the creator of this recipe and she just lightly peels the cucumber and uses the whole thing. She uses more cucumber for a dressing, and less for a dip. When I make it, I use a heaping tablespoon or two of garlic powder instead of fresh garlic because I like that taste better. I love it because I actually enjoy eating raw vegees when I have this to dip them into!!!! I crave it now and have to have some in the fridge all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
When I first made this, it seemed like it was missing something. But after I let it sit in the fridge a few hours and allowed the flavors to mingle, well... that was pretty much all it needed! Good stuff! :-) In addition to using as a salad dressing, it works great as a spread in a wrap with smoked salmon and sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I really like this - the cucumber and garlic remind me of a Greek tzaziki sauce. To keep things simple, I just pressed the garlic and threw all of the ingredients in the blender at once. We had it with veggies and fried corn and wheat tortilla chips. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I am not a big dressing person when it comes to salads so I wanted something a little different and with a refreshing taste. I love avocados, so this seemed like a perfect dressing for me. Absolutely LOVE IT and agree is a nice dip as well. I did add 2 additional garlic cloves because I like the added bite. From a time preparation perspective, you really don't need to cube the avocados if they are ripe, they blend up with no issues. Would highly recommend this recipe to others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I'm about to have seconds, this dressing tastes great! Pure and healthy. To give it more kick, I added extra lemon juice and garlic instead of upping the salt content. Yummy on a spinach salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
This is a refreshing alternative to fatty, oil laden salad dressings. It is a very balanced dressing, and you don't have to worry about overdoing it. My only suggestion is that if you are watching your sodium intake, try using Mrs Dash instead. And if you really want to cut calories and fat content, instead of using the 1/3 cup of olive oil, try using almond milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wow! I had to change the recipe a bit because I didn't have any cilantro. I took this idea but substituted about 2 teaspoons finely chopped fresh mint for the cilantro. I also added a bit of plain yogurt. It made a delicious dip/dressing. Thank you for the great idea! Best after being refrigerated over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy
Home Town: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I thought this dressing was pretty good. I didn't think it was too thick but it did need something. I might put in more garlic next time. The cucumber taste was great and the cilantro really complimented it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2008
I'm a huge fan of avocado so this dressing was perfect for me. It's really creamy and tasty. I added some fresh herbs that suited my palate. Excellent! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I just got done making this almost exactly as written (lemons can actually be hard to come by in Mexico - so I used lime juice instead) and it is wonderful! I truly enjoyed cleaning out the blender and licking the spatula! I'm anxious to taste it again after it has set for a day or so. Thank you for a great post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States