Cucumber-Avocado Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
This is a very good dressing, I have not yet tried it on a salad, however I did use it as a sauce on a turkey and cheese wrap. The flavour was amazing. I must say two things. I let this mixture chill in the fridge for about 3 days before I used it on anything. Now I don't know if that helped or hurt the flavour. The other thing I have to say in a minor negative light is the cucumber becomes a big of an overpower flavour to the overall taste. My suggestion is to perhaps only use 3/4 of the cuke or maybe even just 1/2. That should allow the flavours of the avacado to come into light as well. This is also a very good substitute for Guac. Just add some onions and a jalapeno to the recipe and you should have a great little mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
I'm about to have seconds, this dressing tastes great! Pure and healthy. To give it more kick, I added extra lemon juice and garlic instead of upping the salt content. Yummy on a spinach salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Very, very tasty dish! Easy to make and my dad even liked it (he's pretty fussy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
This is a very simple recipe, Each flavor blends beautifully as wll as allowing each flavor to stand on it's own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NanaMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is pretty good & pretty basic. I followed the recipe to the 'T' except I didn't bother to de-seed the cucumber. Also I added a bit of Tony's Creole Seasoning to give the dressing a kick. Next time I'll adding jalapeno for even more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cup*Cake

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
Definitely make, cover and refridgerate for an hour or so so that the flavors really develop and meld. Also, if you use English cucumbers, you won't have to de-seed them. This makes a terrific salad dressing but I also LOVED it in a turkey/Swiss/alfalfa sprout sandwich - so good! Great recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I used sour cream instead of the oil and lime juice instead of lemon, and this came out great. It is a little thick, but it still worked as a dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
When I first made this, it seemed like it was missing something. But after I let it sit in the fridge a few hours and allowed the flavors to mingle, well... that was pretty much all it needed! Good stuff! :-) In addition to using as a salad dressing, it works great as a spread in a wrap with smoked salmon and sprouts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYCALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Excellent dressing. I did add one more clove of garlic and a dash of cayenne pepper. Great for a dip as prepared above. For a salad dressing, I doubled the lemon juice, which gave it a bit more zing and made it thin enough for salad dressing. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
I didn't seed the cucumber as another reviewer suggested and skipped the oil. Faboulous for me who needed no excuse at all to eat more avocado and cucumber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kale, Quinoa, Avocado Salad with Dijon Dressing

Loaded with super foods, there’s a ton of good stuff in this healthy salad.

Corn Salad with Creamy Italian Dressing

An easy corn salad with roasted red peppers and a creamy dressing.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States