Cucumber and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Great salad with fresh vegetables, but something different than a salad with lettuces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
As I was making this salad, it seemed to me that there was too much vinegar. Accordingly, I only added half the amount called for and it was perfect. Will be going on a picnic next week with the girls and this will be my contribution. Thanks so much, mommyof4, for a healthy, super salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pearce, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Not enough flavor, (seasoning) as is, plus the amount of red vinegar called for was too much, it was very overpowering. Did a bit of altering until it was more to our liking. Added a few pinches of kosher salt & freshly ground black pepper, a pinch of sugar, used kalamanto olives from the local deli (dislike canned olive) cut back on the amount of red wine vinegar, and added a glug of olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Loved it! Try using 1/4 c balsamic vinegar instead of 1/2 red wine vinegar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Quick & easy. I did take others suggestion & only use half as much red wine vinegar. Hubby thought a sprinkle of salt was needed. When making again I'll use 1 less stalk of celery - personal preference..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This was really tasty and healthy. I added one cup of fat free plain yogurt, a tablespoon of sugar, and salt and pepper. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Gulgren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Refreshing. I only used 1/2 can of the black olives and 1/4 c. red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was good. You have to like blue cheese and a marinated cucumber. I left out the olives- just a personal preference and all the rest of my ingredients were fresh and organic. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is an easy and yummy salad especially for those who don't love lettuce. Be sure not to dress it until the last minute as the vinegar can start to break down the veggies. This is outstanding with Indian or spicy main dishes as it has a cooling effect. Great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I love this salad. When I first made this salad I was just putting together veggies and flavors that I love and I think that the vinegar and blue cheese compliment each other well. I do add salt and pepper to mine, I don't know why I left it out when I wrote the recipe. I don't add oil because I was making a salad with no fat and sometimes I don't like oil in my salad dressing. Hope you enjoy as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States