Cucumber and Blue Cheese Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
I did not care for this until I added 1/4 cup sugar and 1/4 cup canola oil. I made it without at first and it was way too tart for me. I then mixed the sugar and oil together and blended in the vegetable/vinegar mixture. It was really good with the change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clarksville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
I liked this recipe because it was made with simple ingredients and made a lot fast. It is crisp and cool. I added olive oil and salt and pepper which almost completed it. I think it still needs fresh chives or flat leaf parsley. With that said, it devoured at a cookout and seemed liked by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Definitely needs some seasonings: salt and pepper, maybe a little bit of sugar. Use less vinegar. It doesn't need to be drenched in the dressing. Just enough to give a bit of zip to the salad. Dressings should never be the focus on a salad. They are to "dress" the salad. Hence the name.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
I love this salad. When I first made this salad I was just putting together veggies and flavors that I love and I think that the vinegar and blue cheese compliment each other well. I do add salt and pepper to mine, I don't know why I left it out when I wrote the recipe. I don't add oil because I was making a salad with no fat and sometimes I don't like oil in my salad dressing. Hope you enjoy as much as I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyof4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
This is an easy and yummy salad especially for those who don't love lettuce. Be sure not to dress it until the last minute as the vinegar can start to break down the veggies. This is outstanding with Indian or spicy main dishes as it has a cooling effect. Great every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Loved it! Try using 1/4 c balsamic vinegar instead of 1/2 red wine vinegar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Made as written, colorful, crisp and easy. Needed a little something, tried salt and pepper, made a big difference. Not sure how well it would keep, did fine. I drained off the extra juice the next day and enjoyed it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Magnolia Blossom
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Refreshing. I only used 1/2 can of the black olives and 1/4 c. red wine vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Pretty darn good! I did add some olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Potter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
This was good. You have to like blue cheese and a marinated cucumber. I left out the olives- just a personal preference and all the rest of my ingredients were fresh and organic. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Baked Goat Cheese Caprese Salad

Taste a creamy, inspired version of the classic tomato salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States