Cucumber and Avocado Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
I really did not care for the rice vinegar. I actually made this recipe twice, the second time minus the rice vinegar. I also added cooked shrimp to the sushi. It was pretty good the second time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I agree with sushiichii; one uses a good quality short grain rice--a Cal rose variety is often preferred (Nishiki brand in my neck of the woods) to make sushi, not glutinous rice which is for desserts, mochi cake, etc. I guess no one fans the rice after adding the vinegar, to cool the rice quickly (it won't be mushy, either) and give it a nice sheen like my auntie Kimiko taught me over forty years ago. I haven't seen that instruction given in any of the recipes I've seen here. One might try different brands of rice vinegar; personally, I prefer a nice mild seasoned one. In a pinch, one can use white vinegar with sugar added--use far less than you would rice vinegar, add a little and sample the rice while cooling, adding more as necessary, flipping/folding delicately with your rice paddle. All in all, this is a decent and simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
What fun and how tasty. We made this recipe with a party of 12 year olds. I put out bowls of chopped veggies, panko bread crumbs, and imitation crab for the filling and toasted black and white sesame seeds for the outside. They loved making their own rolls. I used wax paper to roll them and it worked out great. I have also made these for adult parties and gotten rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yum! I was really in the mood for some rolls today and when considering the drive to Bennihana, I suddenly remembered I had some nori in my pantry. I actually used the recipe for "Perfect Sushi Rice" because I had some issues in the past with the "sushi rice" I'd bought, but then went back to follow this one. These rolls are incredible! I'm going to add smoked salmon next time...these really satisfied my craving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
This is a good recipe for a basic sushi. Including avocado and cucumber as a starting point, we also added a thin slice of omlette, crab meat, and roasted bell peppers. In another roll, we put tuna, supremed oranges and blanched asparagus spears. In yet another roll, we put pickled beets and goat cheese. You can do just about anything with sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
great recipe my family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This was my first time attempting sushi. This recipe was super simple and tastes just sushi I've had in resturants. I chose to add real crab meat. Tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
The only reason I'm only giving it four stars is because this is labor intensive. But the taste was EXCELLENT! It was also just a fun experience to spend the time in the kitchen with a friend making something so new and different. We felt like we were on an adventure. Maybe I SHOULD give it five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrermartinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My roommate and I used this recipe as a base (and motivational factor in making sushi at all) for our own sushi. Although we didn't have cucumber and avocado sushi, I am giving this recipe a 5 because we wouldn't have otherwise made it without this recipe inspiring confidence (this is a VERY easy dish). We used things we had in the fridge to make our own "unique" sushi rolls. They included (1) Pepperoni Pizza Sushi Roll: Use several pepperoni to make a line on the rice, add some mozzarella, a line of spagetti or tomato sauce (we used tomato basil sauce we had left over), sprinkle with crushed red pepper and garlic salt; (2) Roast Beef Sushi Roll: a line of roast beef (we used sandwich meat) on the sushi roll, a line of cream cheese, and a line of red bell pepper; (3) Turkey Sushi Roll: a line of sandwich turkey, line of avacado, line of wasabi sauce, line of cream cheese. We also had several dipping sauces on hand, eg soy sauce, wasabi sauce, and spicy ranch (we couldn't find sushi mayo). It was delicious, we are making more this week for a dinner party. My boyfriend and his best friend stopped by during our meal and also LOVED the sushi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Good recipe. Added a bit of soy sauce and touch of sesame oil to the rice. I also went for a bigger sushi so in addition, added a bit of scrambled egg and carrot. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States