Cucumber and Avocado Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
YUM!!! I made this for my friends and it was a big hit! Served w/ Soy and Teriaki Sauces. Recipe is so easy and quick, even my 10 yr old sister made it by herself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
My girlfriends and I had a shshi afternoon a few weeks back, and this was one of the kinds that we tryed. We experimented and used sushsi mayo on some, and left the others plain, just to see what kind we liked best. Both were very good. Oh ya, we added crab to these rolls too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
A little less rice vinegar, and a little more water I needed for the sushi rice, but otherwise it was a BIG hit :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
I tried this last night it was sooo good! The avocado and cucumber went together perfectly. I also added some tuna in one roll tasted really good too. Great thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
Why everybody using glutenous rice for sushi? They meant for different purpose, suchi as making Mirin or mochi (Japanese rice cake). They contain large amount of starch so it makes sushi rice too sticky. Real sushi rice is made with Cal rose Japanese rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kokura, Fukuoka, Japan
Living In: Westport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2006
A great recipe! I added crab sticks to a few, and also smoked salmon. The smoked salmon was a delicious addition! Definitely need some dipping sauce such as soy sauce or wasabi to add flavor if just using cucumber and avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMCCREAR

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Centreville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hockessin, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
Good... Our first try at sushi. We used a different rice recipe, but maybe should have just used this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Good recipe. Added a bit of soy sauce and touch of sesame oil to the rice. I also went for a bigger sushi so in addition, added a bit of scrambled egg and carrot. It was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
My roommate and I used this recipe as a base (and motivational factor in making sushi at all) for our own sushi. Although we didn't have cucumber and avocado sushi, I am giving this recipe a 5 because we wouldn't have otherwise made it without this recipe inspiring confidence (this is a VERY easy dish). We used things we had in the fridge to make our own "unique" sushi rolls. They included (1) Pepperoni Pizza Sushi Roll: Use several pepperoni to make a line on the rice, add some mozzarella, a line of spagetti or tomato sauce (we used tomato basil sauce we had left over), sprinkle with crushed red pepper and garlic salt; (2) Roast Beef Sushi Roll: a line of roast beef (we used sandwich meat) on the sushi roll, a line of cream cheese, and a line of red bell pepper; (3) Turkey Sushi Roll: a line of sandwich turkey, line of avacado, line of wasabi sauce, line of cream cheese. We also had several dipping sauces on hand, eg soy sauce, wasabi sauce, and spicy ranch (we couldn't find sushi mayo). It was delicious, we are making more this week for a dinner party. My boyfriend and his best friend stopped by during our meal and also LOVED the sushi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
The only reason I'm only giving it four stars is because this is labor intensive. But the taste was EXCELLENT! It was also just a fun experience to spend the time in the kitchen with a friend making something so new and different. We felt like we were on an adventure. Maybe I SHOULD give it five stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ferrermartinez

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States