Cucumber and Avocado Sushi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Witch In The Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I made this sushi and it was fabulous! I didn't have sushi rice OR rice vinegar. Instead, I used regular white rice and white vinegar and the sushi rolls turned out just fine; I loved them. I will make these again! I'm a vegetarian, my parents aren't so I did add imitation crab to half of my sushi batch for my parents. I also noticed that I didn't have enough rice cooked for 4 sheets of nori to be filled and the last one wasn't fully stuffed like the others. Next time, I'll make more rice! Overall, I love this so so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Witch In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
YUMMY!!!!!! My sister and I made these with Perfect Sushi Rice from this site. We did 2 California Rolls...with the imatation crab, cucumber (we used an English cuke), avacado. We also did 2 rolls with fresh Yellowfin Tuna from the fish dept. of our food store. This tuna was so fresh and mild...tasted like butter. Excellent! The tuna rolls we also added the cukes and avacado. We found our Nori seaweed in the Asian section of our food store....no problem. Served with wasabi and low sodium soy. Also made Japanese Soup with Tofu and Mushooms from this site and Vegetarian Dumplings from Alton Brown on Food Network for a complete meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I agree with others here, I felt intimidated about making sushi until I saw this recipe and decided to go for it. It is super easy! I marinated my cucumber in soy sauce, rice vinegar, and fresh ginger. I also added tofu. And embarrassingly, cream cheese! Ok, I'm white, I like cream cheese in my sushi! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keflavík, Suðurnes, Iceland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Being pregnant I have to be wary of eating fish with high methyl mercury content and cold cuts being contaminated with listeria. I have not been able to eat my favorite spicy tuna sushi for 5 months despite craving for it. I'm very happy that this dish hit the spot! (Be forewarned that if you're used to eating spicy tuna, volcano rolls etc. that this recipe will probably taste a bit bland to you.) It's a very basic recipe. CHANGES: Made 2 cups of Cal Rose rice then mixed in 2 tablespoons of Nakano seasoned rice vinegar and 1 tsp of sesame oil. Just add crab meat to the cucumber, avocado and you've got a California roll! Other great ideas to add into the sushi is shrimp tempura and use eel sauce from this site (don't worry there's no eel in the sauce) or maybe even some salmon roe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Great but needs cream cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Stephanie
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
I made these, they were very easy. Remember to tightly roll so the ingredients stay in the middle when you cut them. I also made avacado, cucumber, and smoked salmon rolls as well as smoked salmon and cream cheese rolls. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie
Home Town: Rockton, Illinois, USA
Living In: South Beloit, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scott Depot, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
If you have a couple hours on a Saturday morning, this is a great way to spend it. The recipe (and finding all the ingredients) took some time but it was definitely worth it, especially because it lasts a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I used brown rice cooked as directed, and used some leeks sliced long ways rolled up too. Also good with hummus in it. Great vegan dish people!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintmojo13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
It was a bit of a fail with the rolling bit, but I think I'm going to give it another go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Affy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Types of Sushi

Get a quick introduction to beautiful, delicious sushi.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rolls

Find out how to make fresh, delicious sushi rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States