Cucidati II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Better than my mother's recipe. The dough handles very easily, although I had to make a double batch of dough to accomodate all the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
Great Recipe--far superior to the cookies at the local bakery. The Italian-Americans loved these. Thanks Big Time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
Great recipe. My father is 100% Italian and he said these are just as good as his mothers. I had to double the dough but no bid deal. Also, 8 minutes in my oven was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
This is a great recipe.but I found that there was to much filling for the dough so double the dough recipe I searched for years for this recipe for my mom because her grand mother used to make them but had no written recipe unfortunately my mother passed away before I could make them for her-Now I make them every Christmas for my family and friends I make hundreds of them there is just one thing I change Instead of rolling them in logs I cut out rounds or trees or stars place filling in the center and place another shape on top and crimp edges That was how my mother remembered my great grandmother making them. Then I make a icing glaze and brush the baked and cooled cookies sprinkle with colored Jimmies to make them festive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Just like my grandmother from Sicilys recipe. The beauty of this recipe is that you can substitute raisins with currants etc etc. I added a heaping cup of extra strong hot coffee to the recipe. One problem- I hade to quadruple the dough amount. How thick are you making things. Also, cucidati is Sicilian for bracelet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ware, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
a great recipe. I chilled the pasta after it was prepared and easier to work with. the second time I double the pasta recipe as to use the filling. brought back many happy memories. consigliatissimo!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
Yum. I dislike ratings from reviewers that chance recipes, however this is the perfect recipe to alter - and I'm sure it would be yummy as written... so, 5 stars is called for here. This was exactly the sort of filled cookie recipe I was looking for to use up dried figs. I didn't have all the called for innards the first batch, and I've now made these three times - each batch with different stuffing. I live in Italy now, so there are scads of dried figs during the winter. I always used the figs, but I find I have to chop them with a knife before I put them in the processor with the other ingredients. They are so stiff and sticky that they just create a jam before the blade has made three complete revolutions. I don't measure, so it's figs, something jammie like apricot or orange marmalaide (we have bitter orange here, and that's wonderful), honey (maybe 1/4 cup), orange juice (or our orange, lemon, carrot - just a splash), maybe some craisins or raisins, dried apricots, walnuts or pecans. I pulse everything, but it stays chunky. Add it in the proper stages so that none of it really gets pasty. Also, I don't use the whole amount of sugar in the dough, and I use butter vice some other anything called shortening. I roll the dough out in a large rectangle, about 12 inches wide by however long it needs to be to be about 1/4 inch thick. I cut three strips 4 inches wide, divide the filling by three, lay 1/3 down the center of each of the strips of dough, then I just ra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ammaliatrice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
I had never made these before today and decided try something new, since I had dried figs. I have to admit that I didn't think they would turn out, but surprisingly, they're very good! (But they are VERY sweet) They remind me of Fig Newtons.) I substituted prunes for raisins, pecans for walnuts, and butter for shortening. I also halved the recipe. I ended up with a lot more filling than I could fit inside the dough, so if I make these again I'll double the dough recipe, and also add less honey. Yum! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnutty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Delicious! The obly thing: It makes double the filling, so you either need to cut the filling in half or make double the dough. Thanks for a great recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pizzelles III

See how to make traditional Italian waffle cookies.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States