Cube Steak Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
this was a great starting point for making cube steak stew. my husband absolutely hates chicken fried steak and i was looking for a nice way to fix cube steaks. i sauteed onions, sliced portobello mushrooms, garlic, and sliced baby carrots in some butter and olive oil. i coated the cut up cube steak in whole wheat flour and sauteed until browned. i added some chicken stock, half and half and recommended seasonings. cooked until nice and thick. i would like to add the browning sauce just for some nice color but not necessary. we arent a fan of canned vegetables, but this recipe is definitely a keeper with some modifications. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
This was easy, good and comforting, not to mention inexpensive. I used fresh potatoes and frozen peas and carrots, added about 1/2 c. of tomato paste, a little balsamic vinegar, some fresh minced garlic (which I added with the beef and onions) and a little cayenne. I also increased the liquid, about 2 c. of broth and 2 c. of water. Thank you Joyce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This was to salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I don't know if the browning sauce is the key ingredient to stew or what, but this is the first time I've made stew and had it turn out really well! I used fresh carrots and potatoes (left out the peas), garlic powder and had to add another cup of water right at the beginning. I used less salt and more bouillon cubes. We ate this over rice tonight and are looking forward to the leftovers, this made enough to feed at least 6! This recipe is a keeper :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was really good! I didn't have browning sauce so I used worchestershire. I also used fresh carrots and potatoes, used can green peas. Cooked it according to recipe...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
My husband LOVED this stew. SO easy to make. I omitted the potatos and added mushrooms and doubled the amount of carrots and peas. I also melted a slice of swiss cheese on the top of each individual bowl. It was fabulous, he requested it again already!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
I added diced fresh carrots, and nearly tripled the water. It was still thick and delicious. the recipe mentions carrots in the text, but not in the ingredient list. It was tasty, easy, and my kids ate the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAXTRAX

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
So delicious! I used fresh and frozen veggies because I didn't have any canned~ I boiled them in vegetable broth until tender and then threw them in the skillet with the steak. I served it over barley along side kale. We ate every last drop. Dipping bread is a must! Tossing the cubed steak in flour gives it a rich gravy that we can't resist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This had WAY too much black pepper in it for our tastes. If I want to add that much kick I would choose to do it with something other than plain black pepper. All we could taste was the pepper and we wanted to try a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhilipD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I bought some cube steaks with the intention of making chicken fried steak but when it came time to cook I didn't feel like going to all that work. So, I hopped on to allrecipes looking for something else to do with them and came across this recipe. Very easy and I had everything. I hate canned veggies so I used frozen. This came together really well and we enjoyed it. I probably wouldn't make this again since we prefer stew meat for our stews but it was perfect for what I was looking for at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States