Cube Steak Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2000
Good recipe. Made little variation by using 2-16 oz cans of vegetable soup in lieu of the vegetable listed in the recipe. Served this with crusty bread and a salad for dinner. Very quick and easy dinner to prepare on a busy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
I added diced fresh carrots, and nearly tripled the water. It was still thick and delicious. the recipe mentions carrots in the text, but not in the ingredient list. It was tasty, easy, and my kids ate the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAXTRAX

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2001
This was to salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
This recipe was even better the next day! Thank you Joyce for submitting this fast and easy cold weather comfort food. The only things I did different was I added a can of tomato paste to it. Also, I didn't have any browning sauce but it seemed to taste fine without it. I also didn't have any premade Italian seasoning on hand so I just added Italian-type seasonings to it. This recipe was so easy to tweak and still come out really good. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Howard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
Although it was pretty good, it definitely tasted better the second day! I used only 1/2 tsp. each of salt and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2004
My husband LOVED this stew. SO easy to make. I omitted the potatos and added mushrooms and doubled the amount of carrots and peas. I also melted a slice of swiss cheese on the top of each individual bowl. It was fabulous, he requested it again already!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2004
This recipe was simple, not time consuming at all and was very good! It was a complete meal in itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2005
THE MEAL WAS GREAT. WE HAVE MADE IT TWICE AND LOVED IT BOTH TIMES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
Very good stew! Quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
this was a great starting point for making cube steak stew. my husband absolutely hates chicken fried steak and i was looking for a nice way to fix cube steaks. i sauteed onions, sliced portobello mushrooms, garlic, and sliced baby carrots in some butter and olive oil. i coated the cut up cube steak in whole wheat flour and sauteed until browned. i added some chicken stock, half and half and recommended seasonings. cooked until nice and thick. i would like to add the browning sauce just for some nice color but not necessary. we arent a fan of canned vegetables, but this recipe is definitely a keeper with some modifications. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States