Cube Steak Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was a great find. I had cubed venison steaks in the freezer and didn't want the same ole thing. I did make the following changes and it came out AMAZING - I added fresh-cubed butternut squash, 2 onions, canned peas, and mushrooms instead of the potatoes and carrots. I also used stock instead of bullion. It is rich, creamy and a definite keeper of a recipe as I am sure it is just as delicious with the veggies that the original calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
The flavor of this was okay if you could get past the look of it. It looked like mush, not very appealing to the eyes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
Pretty good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This had WAY too much black pepper in it for our tastes. If I want to add that much kick I would choose to do it with something other than plain black pepper. All we could taste was the pepper and we wanted to try a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PhilipD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
I bought some cube steaks with the intention of making chicken fried steak but when it came time to cook I didn't feel like going to all that work. So, I hopped on to allrecipes looking for something else to do with them and came across this recipe. Very easy and I had everything. I hate canned veggies so I used frozen. This came together really well and we enjoyed it. I probably wouldn't make this again since we prefer stew meat for our stews but it was perfect for what I was looking for at the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Rader

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
Very simple and very good. Instead of browning sauce, I used a hearty red wine. Also used fresh potatoes, frozen peas and carrots, and vegan beef flavored bouillon. I didn't use any salt, since most bouillon has a fair amount of salt already in it. My friend devoured it in seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
This was a great base to a receipe. My family loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
This was good (the hubby loved it). I added fresh carrots and potatoes, frozen peas. At the end, I added in a can of black olives. Instead of the browning sauce, I used Worcestershire Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was really good! I didn't have browning sauce so I used worchestershire. I also used fresh carrots and potatoes, used can green peas. Cooked it according to recipe...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiselput

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
I don't know if the browning sauce is the key ingredient to stew or what, but this is the first time I've made stew and had it turn out really well! I used fresh carrots and potatoes (left out the peas), garlic powder and had to add another cup of water right at the beginning. I used less salt and more bouillon cubes. We ate this over rice tonight and are looking forward to the leftovers, this made enough to feed at least 6! This recipe is a keeper :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States