Cube Steak Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
We liked it very much, I used Worcestershire because I didn't have browning sauce, used fresh potatoes and carrot chips, not peas. added a bay leaf too. Salt and pepper can be adjusted by taste, if you feel it gets too salty or peppery. I defiantly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Stulting
Photo by Marie van der Let
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
So I've never made a stew before so I was looking for a good base so then my husband and mom could help me. So we used fresh potatoes, onions and carrots and diced them. We also added corn and peas and after looking at the reviews we had dedicated tomato paste and balsamic vinegar. And cooked it a lot longer because I need 8th to fall apart. But it was so good! I can't stop eating it. We also used cornstarch to thicken it. We changed a lot but it was wonderful, thanks so much for the great reviews on this and the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie van der Let

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Im not keen on cubed steak but hubby loves it this was an easy recipe didnt follow to letter but turned out great, missed out the pepper and tatties as we like tatties made on own all in all a great recipe for a beginner to cubed steak :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
After cooking 25 minutes the cubed steak was still tough so I had to cook this two hours to tenderize the meat.But it was delicious. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
This is a very easy recipe and one you can easily play with to make it to your taste. Used frozen and fresh veggies instead of canned, added a can of tomato sauce to it, left the onion out (for hubby), added with the seasonings in the recipe a McCormick vegetable beef soup seasoning mix, took 3 tbsp of butter not 1/2 tbsp. frying the meat, and used double the water and bouillon and could have easily used another cup or 2. The longer it sits there the thicker it gets. Very tasty result though..Entire pot was devoured in minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
simple dish. tasted pretty good. a little too much pepper in the recipe. still could see making this one again with a little adjustment with the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Nareski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This is very quick and easy. It's too peppery for us though so next time I make it I'll use just a 1/2 tsp. I like the idea from another reviewer to substitute Worcestershire. I'll try that once I figure out the pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pontiac, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This came out great! My hubby loved it. I added some cayenne pepper for a little bit of spice. And added 1/2 c of tomato sauce. Cubes were still a lil chewy so I let it simmer for another 10 minutes or so. Thanks for the recipe! Definetly a great one for these cold winter days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I was so surprised how good this stew was. Will do this again used baby portabello mushrooms. this is what comfor food is all about
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This was a great find. I had cubed venison steaks in the freezer and didn't want the same ole thing. I did make the following changes and it came out AMAZING - I added fresh-cubed butternut squash, 2 onions, canned peas, and mushrooms instead of the potatoes and carrots. I also used stock instead of bullion. It is rich, creamy and a definite keeper of a recipe as I am sure it is just as delicious with the veggies that the original calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Berdean’s Cube Steak

See how to make super-simple, totally tender cube steaks.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States