Cuban Water Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
You must allow the dough to rise twice, which makes the process very long. Also, kneading this bread is difficult because of the lack of water and the abundance of flour. But in the end, the bread is great. It looks really crazy when it comes out of the oven, which makes it even better I think. Who thinks that perfectly-shaped bread is fun to eat anyway? This bread is a must-try! If you've got a few spare hours of course...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is the recipe I have been looking for! The crust was awesome, the inside chewy--it was spectacular. Even the next day it was a fantastic flavor and texture. This will become a staple in my recipe files. Thank you for a superb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I thought this was a fabulous recipe. I cut it in half to make just one loaf, but left the sugar amt the same since we like a sweeter bread. I mixed/kneaded in my bread machine and the dough was very very stiff, but the flour did incorporate. It raised beautifully & baked fabulous & was very, very tasty with a great crusty outside. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Very crusty crust, and tasted just like bread you get in resturant. will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is a very easy and very healthy bread to make--a must for beginning bakers. I agree that there is probably more flour listed than necessary. Don't worry if you have some left over during/after kneading. I suggest the following preparation changes to make the bread come out nice and moist: 1) For the bread's second rise (step 3), place the loaves in a cold oven. Put a tray of hot water on the bottom of the oven and close the oven. Let rise until doubled (around 30-45 minutes). 2) Brush the bread with water, add the seeds if you want, and bake as indicated. Leave the tray of water in the oven along with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
OMG! I loved this bread! It took a long time to make (I made it at 2 in the morning- my baking hour!), but it was very easy and soooooo delicious! The only changes i made was adding a bit more water (i halved the recipe), and i follwed Malandis's review suggestions with the steam (THANK YOU!) Also, i added a tiny bit of pumpkin seed oil mixed in and basted it with it just a bit (I just felt like using it because that oil is THE most delicious thing ever!) The bread came out absolutely perfect, and almost tasted a bit like sourdough bread. It looked gorgeous too! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!! ----- later note: i added half a cup of chopped onion, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
My husband loves this bread as an alternative to the rich, buttery breads that I normally make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAITIDID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
For necessity (low in flower) I add a little of Parmesan Cheese. The result: A wonderful bread, a little to the salt side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Loved this bread. I also modified it by using 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 unbleached bread flour. Excellent for toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I was very sceptical as to how this would turn out...I rushed thru the recipe and I think I used 1 cup too much flour. I ended up adding 1/2 cup add'l water and my bread dough (before the first rise) resembled brains more than bread. Once it rose, it kneaded out nice and smooth and rose again to make 2 lovely loaves. I used a pan of hot H2O in the oven. Good crust, great texture-nice and dense. Yummy with butter and jam. Thank you very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chalfont, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Weymouth Township, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States