Cuban Water Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is a very easy and very healthy bread to make--a must for beginning bakers. I agree that there is probably more flour listed than necessary. Don't worry if you have some left over during/after kneading. I suggest the following preparation changes to make the bread come out nice and moist: 1) For the bread's second rise (step 3), place the loaves in a cold oven. Put a tray of hot water on the bottom of the oven and close the oven. Let rise until doubled (around 30-45 minutes). 2) Brush the bread with water, add the seeds if you want, and bake as indicated. Leave the tray of water in the oven along with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
You must allow the dough to rise twice, which makes the process very long. Also, kneading this bread is difficult because of the lack of water and the abundance of flour. But in the end, the bread is great. It looks really crazy when it comes out of the oven, which makes it even better I think. Who thinks that perfectly-shaped bread is fun to eat anyway? This bread is a must-try! If you've got a few spare hours of course...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
I've been looking for just such a recipe for a long time! My husband grew up in a Cuban family and always praised the bread they served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is the recipe I have been looking for! The crust was awesome, the inside chewy--it was spectacular. Even the next day it was a fantastic flavor and texture. This will become a staple in my recipe files. Thank you for a superb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I have made this bread a number of times and we always love it. The recipe is very simple but the result is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
OMG! I loved this bread! It took a long time to make (I made it at 2 in the morning- my baking hour!), but it was very easy and soooooo delicious! The only changes i made was adding a bit more water (i halved the recipe), and i follwed Malandis's review suggestions with the steam (THANK YOU!) Also, i added a tiny bit of pumpkin seed oil mixed in and basted it with it just a bit (I just felt like using it because that oil is THE most delicious thing ever!) The bread came out absolutely perfect, and almost tasted a bit like sourdough bread. It looked gorgeous too! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!! ----- later note: i added half a cup of chopped onion, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I thought this was a fabulous recipe. I cut it in half to make just one loaf, but left the sugar amt the same since we like a sweeter bread. I mixed/kneaded in my bread machine and the dough was very very stiff, but the flour did incorporate. It raised beautifully & baked fabulous & was very, very tasty with a great crusty outside. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
I had NEVER baked bread before, but I grew up with a mother that made a lot. I was curious that the recipe didn't put the yeast in a little bowl with warm water first (since I saw my mother do it all the time). So... I looked around to find out why - It is called proofing the yeast (testing it) - because it CAN go bad. It was also mentioned that it 'proofing' is not required... Anyway - I did it the way my mother did - warm water and sugar in a pre-warmed bowl - add the yeast and wait for it to froth up a bit (a couple of minutes) - The first batch I used dropped to the bottom of the bowl and did nothing - no bubbles - it just sank. So I bought some new yeast (that hadn't been in the cupboard for years) and tried it - the yeast mostly floated and swelled up immediately. So - I would suggest that the ONLY reason some people had difficulty with the bread rising is because they had bad yeast - Another note on that - on advice from my mother I made sure the room was warm with no cold breezes - she said it would stall the bread from rising. Apart from some poor loaf forming on my part, the bread was perfect - one was symmetrical... the other looked like a bad comb over - but was still good As for the 'salty' taste - Well, I don't bake a lot - my first 'bread' attempt - but I DO cook a lot - Salt is used to taste and is not required for a recipe to work - so... add what you want (within reason - hehe) or cut it all out...it just affects taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
I am a professional baker, and this bread was TERRIBLE! After reading the other reviews, I added an extra 1/2 T of both salt and sugar, but it was still horrible and way too salty. Like others, I baked it with a pan of water in the oven. I let it rise for over 12 hours (about 10 hrs for the first rise and 2 for the second) but it did not not double, and after baking it was extremely dense, heavy, salty, and gross. I kneaded it in the kitchenaide mixer for 7-8 minutes. I should have paid more attention to the other negative reviews - and you should too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Turned out amazing! I cut the recipe in half, which calls for 4 cups of flour. I could not get even 3 1/2 cups in; I tried and tried! The first 2 cups were bread flour, the third was whole wheat pastry flour, and the rest was all purpose. Nice crusty outside, soft on the inside, smelled and tasted wonderful! Next time I will make the whole recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States