Cuban Water Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2000
I've been looking for just such a recipe for a long time! My husband grew up in a Cuban family and always praised the bread they served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2000
You must allow the dough to rise twice, which makes the process very long. Also, kneading this bread is difficult because of the lack of water and the abundance of flour. But in the end, the bread is great. It looks really crazy when it comes out of the oven, which makes it even better I think. Who thinks that perfectly-shaped bread is fun to eat anyway? This bread is a must-try! If you've got a few spare hours of course...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
I thought this was a fabulous recipe. I cut it in half to make just one loaf, but left the sugar amt the same since we like a sweeter bread. I mixed/kneaded in my bread machine and the dough was very very stiff, but the flour did incorporate. It raised beautifully & baked fabulous & was very, very tasty with a great crusty outside. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Brandywine, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
For necessity (low in flower) I add a little of Parmesan Cheese. The result: A wonderful bread, a little to the salt side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2004
This is a very easy and very healthy bread to make--a must for beginning bakers. I agree that there is probably more flour listed than necessary. Don't worry if you have some left over during/after kneading. I suggest the following preparation changes to make the bread come out nice and moist: 1) For the bread's second rise (step 3), place the loaves in a cold oven. Put a tray of hot water on the bottom of the oven and close the oven. Let rise until doubled (around 30-45 minutes). 2) Brush the bread with water, add the seeds if you want, and bake as indicated. Leave the tray of water in the oven along with the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Loved this bread. I also modified it by using 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 unbleached bread flour. Excellent for toasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2004
I didn't like this at all . I didn't take mote than one bite but my husband lked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2005
Very crusty crust, and tasted just like bread you get in resturant. will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingville, New York, USA
Living In: Geneseo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
OMG! I loved this bread! It took a long time to make (I made it at 2 in the morning- my baking hour!), but it was very easy and soooooo delicious! The only changes i made was adding a bit more water (i halved the recipe), and i follwed Malandis's review suggestions with the steam (THANK YOU!) Also, i added a tiny bit of pumpkin seed oil mixed in and basted it with it just a bit (I just felt like using it because that oil is THE most delicious thing ever!) The bread came out absolutely perfect, and almost tasted a bit like sourdough bread. It looked gorgeous too! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!! ----- later note: i added half a cup of chopped onion, came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I had eaten water bread before, always bought, so I jumped at this recipe when I first saw it. This recipe makes a gorgeous dough that is easily manageable. It made two loaves which came out tasting delicious, but for some reason they were a bit dense, and heavy. I will take suggestions as to what went wrong that caused it to come out that way. I will try again this recipe because the taste of this bread in sandwiches is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States