Cuban Water Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
Turned out amazing! I cut the recipe in half, which calls for 4 cups of flour. I could not get even 3 1/2 cups in; I tried and tried! The first 2 cups were bread flour, the third was whole wheat pastry flour, and the rest was all purpose. Nice crusty outside, soft on the inside, smelled and tasted wonderful! Next time I will make the whole recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Personally, I'm a fan of not tweaking a recipe. The first time I tried this one, the dough refused to come together. Too much flour, not enough water. Produced an extremely hard crust and a very dense grain. The second time, much of the same. Even tried cutting out a cup of flour. Still not enough. And one tablespoon of salt is just not enough for the large quantity this recipe makes. Cuban water bread is a poor man's bread. Pretty much just flour and water. The inside should be airier (is that a word, lol) and the crust should be pale and fairly thin. I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is a good, basic bread. I halved the recipe. I should've put in a bit of ww flour but I forgot. It was too dry; I had to add 1/2 cup of water to help it become dough. I love the crisp crust--I did both what the recipe said, which was to brush with cold water twice, and what another reviewer said, which was to place a pan with water in the oven while baking. I forgot I had halved the recipe by the time I made the loaves to rise; I made two round loaves, forgetting the directions don't adjust when you change the amounts. I'm happy I made two though; perfect height and width for regular sandwiches, albeit a bit round. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I served this at a Taste of the Tropics themed dinner party where we tried to have each dish come from a different island. Everyone really enjoyed the bread and described it as rustic and dense, like the inside of a soft pretzel. I prefer a chewier kind of bread, but this was very good. I could barely knead in 7 cups of flour, there was no chance at getting in 8, and it still turned out great...and I think I got a good arm workout in the process!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Very very good! I did however fallow others advice...i used 7 cups of flour and 2 1/2C of water. I also used the hot water in cool oven. It was golden brown in about 35-40min. Its a heavy, dense bread crunchy outside soft inside. best right out of oven and also makes a great toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Anne Dearth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
I have made this bread a number of times and we always love it. The recipe is very simple but the result is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2007
My husband loves this bread as an alternative to the rich, buttery breads that I normally make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KAITIDID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
This is the recipe I have been looking for! The crust was awesome, the inside chewy--it was spectacular. Even the next day it was a fantastic flavor and texture. This will become a staple in my recipe files. Thank you for a superb recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Ogilvie, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Pacific Harbour, Viti Levu, Fiji

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
I was kind of disappointed in this- when I was kneading the dough, it was extremely dry, heavy and tough. I had to sprinkle water on it a few times. The finished product was very dense and heavy (not in a good way). It didn't really taste very good either. It did look good, with the slashes on top... I made a round loaf. At least it was pretty easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
I halved the recipe, and made 1 loaf. I used the bread machine for the kneading and rising stages. The bread turned out denser than I would have liked, and it could also have done with more salt. It looked nice and rustic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States