Cuban-Style Yucca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My husband is from Brazil and just boils the yucca which I find boring. This recipe is perfect... we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I just finished making this... I boiled the yucca for roughly 25 minutes, maybe a tad bit longer. I heated the oil, garlic and onion (I used two small onions), lemon and lime juice, (at the suggestion of one of the other reviewers) threw in a pinch more salt and pepper to the pan, then stirred everything together. It is delicious, delicious, DELICIOUS!!!! I will happily make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great! I do not like to add lemon juice or any citric to my yucca so I left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Went to the outdoor market and saw a yucca. I had never tried it so I bought it. Found this recipe, it sounded like it would go with our stuffed Poblano pepers. I gave it 4 stars because not everyone liked it. Personally I did. It does need to cook for 25 min( as other reviewers said) The texture of yucca is like turnips (not the taste). I will try yucca again maybe with a sweet sauce and see if it goes over better. Thanks for posting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Chaffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
It was ok. The flavours would have been good, but the yucca got gluey, really sticky when I cooked it. I know I didn't overcook it, so not sure what went wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
i am cuban and this is great but my mom showed me that instead of cooking the onions garlic and lemon juice with the olive oil. all you have to do is put the olive oil in the pan till it gets really hot then pour it over the garlic lemon juice and onions it comes our evn better try it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
You must always boil yucca for at least 25 minutes! 15 minutes just doesn't cut it unless you slice it so thin it falls apart. This is a wonderful recipe other than the mis-calculated cooking time, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Made this wonderful side dish last night. Very simple and extremely well accepted by my guests. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
This came out really well, though I doubled the amount of lemon juice and added the same amount of lime juice for added acidity, as I tend to like my food more sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I followed the recipe as indicated but I would say you have to cook the yucca for more than 15 mins because mine was still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States