Cuban-Style Yucca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I really had to doctor this up til it tasted good. I used butter instead of oil. I also fried some onions with the garlic in the butter. I did also put about 1 T olive oil and some drops of sesame oil. I used a masher and smashed the cooked yucca as well. Had to cook the yucca for about 35 minutes. It did have some stringy fibers in the yucca which was not nice to feel as you ate the dish. Very stick to your ribs... A bit to a fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy L

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This was good, but needed a lot more onions. It comes out a bit dry and taste lacking - like it takes on the taste of what you cook it in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Beautiful, simple flavor. My husband and I loved this recipe. I added lemon zest as well, because we like a stronger lemon flavor. This is the first time I have tried yucca and definitely not the last. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
My lovily cuban neighbor shared many recipes with me when he saw my love for cooking, as with many reviews given, the cook time is a bit off, as the yucca in the markets is not as good as the fresh that AL would bring over from his garden, if fresh, than about 20 mins if not fresh than 25-30, some things he recommended: Lime juice instead of lemon, it gives a different dimention, I also was told to heat the oil than pour over the lemon or lime, garlic, and zest, if you like, along with a couple pats of butter, it gives a lovily addition to this dish. I than garnish with citantro, and finely chopped green onion... but will be trying the chives...it looks really yummy on the picture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
A delicious way to eat yuca.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I really liked this; I decided to cut it up into 5-6cm chunks and then toss it in a bowl with the onion mixture to get it more evenly distributed. Needs a little bit of sea salt sprinkled on it when served.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chester, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Good. Not wow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
My husband is from Brazil and just boils the yucca which I find boring. This recipe is perfect... we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I just finished making this... I boiled the yucca for roughly 25 minutes, maybe a tad bit longer. I heated the oil, garlic and onion (I used two small onions), lemon and lime juice, (at the suggestion of one of the other reviewers) threw in a pinch more salt and pepper to the pan, then stirred everything together. It is delicious, delicious, DELICIOUS!!!! I will happily make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Great! I do not like to add lemon juice or any citric to my yucca so I left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Celery Root Mash

See how to make a quick, creamy vegetable side dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States