Cuban-Style Pork and Sweet Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
We liked this very much. Had to improvise on the oj. I had a bottle of mojo marinade and used that instead. Followed the rest. We ate it all before I could take pictures! Thanks for the post MONIQUEWS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by ShotsyGirl
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
It was good. My family liked it & my 6-year old son came back for more. It was a bit bland for me, but I added taco sauce on top & that was about right. We served this over rice with cilantro & a dollop of sour cream. Would be great in tacos or with tortilla chips. If I were to make it again, I'd likely add onion or chives, more salt & more lime-citrusy flavor. Also, I think it would be better baked in the oven so that the meat and potatoes would crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShotsyGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
The citrus y-sweet 'n spicy flavor makes this one of my favorite pork stews. A couple of things to note about this recipe. First, the serving size as recommended results in very, very tiny servings. That’s because this is a Weight Watcher recipe that’s been slightly altered. The second thing worth mentioning is that if you make this in a crock pot, be prepared for it to be over done and the sweet potatoes turned to mush, especially if you dice the potatoes and pork in the recommended cube size. I personally do not use the crock pot when making this. I put everything in a heavy pot, cover, and let it simmer on med-high heat on the stove. It’s ready to go in less than an hour and to keep the sweet potatoes from getting too soft, I chop them in larger pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
A crock pot meal that taste better the second day! Added more garlic cloves and I think next time I might try to get a separate can of green chiles as I think it could have used a bit more. I also used bone in pork chops because it was what I had although I would recommend a different cut perhaps just even thicker chops. I love Latin food and this reminded me of the Cuban restuarant in Miami so this is a keeper for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
I forgot to add the cilantro at the end, but otherwise followed recipe exactly. Hubby doesn't like sweet potatoes, but he liked this dish. Baby liked it, too. And it was so easy to make!!!! I didn't need to cook mine for as long as the directions specified. I checked it after 5 hours and it was already a bit overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
Super-easy and very delicious! I love this because I was able to whip it up with ingredients I always have on-hand. I used a skirt steak instead of pork and I used fresh tomatoes and canned green chile, in place of the canned tomatoes with green chiles. ¡Muy sabroso! Gracias.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This was quite good. I threw in some chopped red onion because I had some to use up. I think next time I'd use a few less sweet potatoes and add a bit of green veggie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
This is a keeper. The sweet potatoes retained their color and texture. A little spicy with a hint of citrus. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sweet and Sour Pork

See how to make a lighter, easier version of sweet and sour pork.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

How to Make Sweet Potato Pie

Watch how to make classic sweet potato pie—it’s far easier than pumpkin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States