Cuban Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I lived in the florida keys for years and this is not a good way to make it. If you want to know the real way....cook a pork roast in a crock pot all day til it falls apart. Cook in pan with onions and garlic, cumin, salt and pepper. Squeez lime juice at the end. Dont put cilantro in it....it does not belong in there! serve with black beans and yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEARLSP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Whitefish, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLEYCAT27
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
It was very good. I made it in the pressure cooker to save time. After cooker reaches stabalized pressure I let it cook for 10 minutes. Then I turned off heat and let it sit for 30 minutes without removing the lid of the pressure cooker. The pork was so tender it fell apart as I tried to remove it from the pot. My advice if you do use pressure cooker is to only add the 16 oz of water or else the flavor is not as strong. I used 24 oz water and I had to add more spices later while It was frying. To avoid dry pork, I stir fried it on ultra high heat until it was toasted on the outside and added the onions during the last 5 minutes. Remember, you want it moist and tender inside and crispy on the outside so you must use high heat to accomplish this. Maybe a couple of bay leaves might make it better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I just made this recipe with a 4# pork shoulder and it came out wonderfully. Couple of things - today's pork is a bit lean - if it won't fry well, add a bit more olive oil. And, if the meat starts getting too dry, add some of the water it was cooked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I went out on a limb to try something different and I'm glad I tried this recipe. I took the advise below and added cumin when crisping the pork, And I (gladly) omitted the cilantro since I'm not a fan. My husband LOVED this. He was getting all creative (which isn't the norm) and asked if we can have it with pickled cabbage on a toasted bun next time. So, it looks like I'll be making this again! (Also, I should note: Due to the reviews of dry pork, I covered the pan after adding the onions & garlic. I also added in some lime zest.) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I tried this recipe and very surprised. My husband who is Peurto Rican thought it was a little dry, but i tried it again with a little more lime juice and olive oil and it turned out fantastic. Served it wiht black beans and rice, what a find. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I thought this was as good as any pork dish I've had out for Cuban food. I used a tenderloin cut into chunks instead of chops. I also used freshed garlic and extra thyme in the boling process. I also needed extra oil and salt when I fried the meat. Otherwise delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I added mesquite seasoning & eliminated the salt (the seasoning has quite a bit already) & I used a chicken broth/white wine combo instead of the water. I used a homemade broth & the wine I used was a sauvignon blanc...was probably a 2 to 1 ratio of broth vs wine. I sauteed my onion until translucent before adding the pork because I wanted it juicy not crispy. ;o) We used the pork to make tacquitos & I served them w/ a mango jam/ mango hot sauce/ yogurt concoction for dipping...best taquitos (are they tacquitos or are they flautas?) I ever had. Thansk for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This was very, very good. I served it in soft corn tortillas. I did not need to cook it for as long as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Everyone liked this recipe. I used a tenderloin, but will use a fattier cut of pork next time so that it will break down more, absorb more flavor, and get crispier. To make this a complete meal you really should serve it with Yellow (saffron) rice and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Great taste. As the submitter recommended, I served alongside black beans and rice, I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States