Cuban Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
I lived in the florida keys for years and this is not a good way to make it. If you want to know the real way....cook a pork roast in a crock pot all day til it falls apart. Cook in pan with onions and garlic, cumin, salt and pepper. Squeez lime juice at the end. Dont put cilantro in it....it does not belong in there! serve with black beans and yellow rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
226 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEARLSP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Whitefish, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALLEYCAT27
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
It was very good. I made it in the pressure cooker to save time. After cooker reaches stabalized pressure I let it cook for 10 minutes. Then I turned off heat and let it sit for 30 minutes without removing the lid of the pressure cooker. The pork was so tender it fell apart as I tried to remove it from the pot. My advice if you do use pressure cooker is to only add the 16 oz of water or else the flavor is not as strong. I used 24 oz water and I had to add more spices later while It was frying. To avoid dry pork, I stir fried it on ultra high heat until it was toasted on the outside and added the onions during the last 5 minutes. Remember, you want it moist and tender inside and crispy on the outside so you must use high heat to accomplish this. Maybe a couple of bay leaves might make it better too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I just made this recipe with a 4# pork shoulder and it came out wonderfully. Couple of things - today's pork is a bit lean - if it won't fry well, add a bit more olive oil. And, if the meat starts getting too dry, add some of the water it was cooked in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I went out on a limb to try something different and I'm glad I tried this recipe. I took the advise below and added cumin when crisping the pork, And I (gladly) omitted the cilantro since I'm not a fan. My husband LOVED this. He was getting all creative (which isn't the norm) and asked if we can have it with pickled cabbage on a toasted bun next time. So, it looks like I'll be making this again! (Also, I should note: Due to the reviews of dry pork, I covered the pan after adding the onions & garlic. I also added in some lime zest.) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2003
I tried this recipe and very surprised. My husband who is Peurto Rican thought it was a little dry, but i tried it again with a little more lime juice and olive oil and it turned out fantastic. Served it wiht black beans and rice, what a find. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I added mesquite seasoning & eliminated the salt (the seasoning has quite a bit already) & I used a chicken broth/white wine combo instead of the water. I used a homemade broth & the wine I used was a sauvignon blanc...was probably a 2 to 1 ratio of broth vs wine. I sauteed my onion until translucent before adding the pork because I wanted it juicy not crispy. ;o) We used the pork to make tacquitos & I served them w/ a mango jam/ mango hot sauce/ yogurt concoction for dipping...best taquitos (are they tacquitos or are they flautas?) I ever had. Thansk for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
I thought this was as good as any pork dish I've had out for Cuban food. I used a tenderloin cut into chunks instead of chops. I also used freshed garlic and extra thyme in the boling process. I also needed extra oil and salt when I fried the meat. Otherwise delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I planned tonight’s meal carefully but regrettably this was not the hit I had hoped it would be. I cooked the meat (country style ribs which could tolerate the long cooking time without drying out) in the crock pot and was disappointed it had so little flavor. At this point I’m thinking the last step, frying it up and adding onion, garlic and lime juice, would take care of that. It did not. All that step managed to do was dry it up, and even tho’ a GOOD amount of butter and olive oil doctored that right up, you shouldn’t have to do that with a good recipe. I served this with yellow rice and Cuban Black Beans II, also from this site. I ate mine as is, but it definitely could have used some sort of sauce to moisten it up and make it more palatable. Hubs took care of his with a good plop of sour cream. Shouldn’t be. If I was to make this again I would NOT fry the meat. I’d cook the onions and garlic till tender, add the meat and just heat it through, then add the cilantro and lime juice. And I wouldn’t think of making this with a lean cut of meat like boneless pork chops – that’s just asking for trouble. Bottom line, this was only mediocre, and mediocre is disappointing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
This was very, very good. I served it in soft corn tortillas. I did not need to cook it for as long as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Everyone liked this recipe. I used a tenderloin, but will use a fattier cut of pork next time so that it will break down more, absorb more flavor, and get crispier. To make this a complete meal you really should serve it with Yellow (saffron) rice and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States