Cuban Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This did not taste like Lechon, it was dry and relatively flavorless even though I added cumin and extra spices. The only thing I changed was that I cooked the roast in a slow-cooker first. Will not make again. Thanks anyhow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
My family loved this Cuban pork with black beans and rice. I used the left overs to make taquitos wrapped in corn tortillas and then fried in corn oil. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKYBLUE1963

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I added mesquite seasoning & eliminated the salt (the seasoning has quite a bit already) & I used a chicken broth/white wine combo instead of the water. I used a homemade broth & the wine I used was a sauvignon blanc...was probably a 2 to 1 ratio of broth vs wine. I sauteed my onion until translucent before adding the pork because I wanted it juicy not crispy. ;o) We used the pork to make tacquitos & I served them w/ a mango jam/ mango hot sauce/ yogurt concoction for dipping...best taquitos (are they tacquitos or are they flautas?) I ever had. Thansk for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
My meat was dry but it could have been the cut I used; still tasty and I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
I was looking foward to making this. I was disappointed. The last step made the pork very dry, my husband called it "pork pellets". I am still in search of good recipe for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I made this for dinner tonight and I thought it was delicious. I didn't have thyme or onion powder on hand so I substitued bay leaves, cumin seeds, and a sprinkle of oregano. I also thought this recipe needed WAY more than a pint of water to keep the meat covered during boiling (I even used less than 1 lb of meat). Next time I make this I think I am going to throw in some ortega chiles at the end. I served this recipe with black beans, tortillas, and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
Not much flavor. Took long for bla results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I went out on a limb to try something different and I'm glad I tried this recipe. I took the advise below and added cumin when crisping the pork, And I (gladly) omitted the cilantro since I'm not a fan. My husband LOVED this. He was getting all creative (which isn't the norm) and asked if we can have it with pickled cabbage on a toasted bun next time. So, it looks like I'll be making this again! (Also, I should note: Due to the reviews of dry pork, I covered the pan after adding the onions & garlic. I also added in some lime zest.) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
Very tasty, but think that I cooked it a bit too long :(. I will definitely make it again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
This was so good! It was pretty easy to make and had a wonderful flavor. I'm not a big fan of pork chops, but I will definitely make this again. The only changes I made were to use fresh garlic and onion. I don't even keep powdered versions in my house because the flavor from fresh ingredients is so much better. We ate it with homemade pico de gallo, wrapped in warm flour tortillas. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gravy Baked Pork Chops

Fork-tender baked pork chops with mushroom gravy.

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States