Cuban Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I planned tonight’s meal carefully but regrettably this was not the hit I had hoped it would be. I cooked the meat (country style ribs which could tolerate the long cooking time without drying out) in the crock pot and was disappointed it had so little flavor. At this point I’m thinking the last step, frying it up and adding onion, garlic and lime juice, would take care of that. It did not. All that step managed to do was dry it up, and even tho’ a GOOD amount of butter and olive oil doctored that right up, you shouldn’t have to do that with a good recipe. I served this with yellow rice and Cuban Black Beans II, also from this site. I ate mine as is, but it definitely could have used some sort of sauce to moisten it up and make it more palatable. Hubs took care of his with a good plop of sour cream. Shouldn’t be. If I was to make this again I would NOT fry the meat. I’d cook the onions and garlic till tender, add the meat and just heat it through, then add the cilantro and lime juice. And I wouldn’t think of making this with a lean cut of meat like boneless pork chops – that’s just asking for trouble. Bottom line, this was only mediocre, and mediocre is disappointing to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
This recipe was a big hit with the whole family, including some very picky eaters (not moi). I tweaked the recipe slightly for convenience and to suit our tastes. I let a 1# boneless pork loin marinade in lime juice, evoo, salt, pepper, onion powder, thyme, and lots of cumin & garlic overnight in the fridge. The following day I seared the entire roast and placed it in a crockpot. I deglazed the pan with 2c. chicken stock adding more lime juice, peppercorns, onion powder, cumin, & garlic also. I added this to the crockpot also & allowed it to cook on high 2.5-3 hours. Then I shredded the pork in the crockpot. I sautéed thinly sliced green pepper & onion, added the shredded pork, as well as even more garlic & cumin and fried it all approximately five minutes. I added more fresh lime just before serving. I served this with lime & cumin infused jasmine rice, spicy stewed black beans with diced tomatoes, warm tortillas, and a serrano ginger sauce. It was crazy good. I can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This was so good! I didn't like the idea of not getting dinner on the table in under 2 hours on a work night, so when I was home over my lunch hour, I mixed up the water, lime juice, and seasonings in my slow cooker, added the pork chops, and cooked them on high for 4.5-5 hours. When we got home, they were perfectly tender and fell apart. Fried up with the onions and garlic per the original recipe, and I had dinner on the table in under half an hour. Served with rice and warmed corn tortillas. So great and easy - can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Amazing! My picky kiddos had seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2012
Love the citrusy taste of the lime in the pork. Takes a while to make so make sure you plan ahead.but tasty dish for sure. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
I make this all the time. It's simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Belle

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Yum! The meat gets really tender, and I love the cilantro, garlic and lime combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Schaefer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Used chicken instead of pork and then feasted for two days on the crispy, flavour filled delight. I can see a margarita and tostado party coming up with this as the highlight....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Everyone liked this recipe. I used a tenderloin, but will use a fattier cut of pork next time so that it will break down more, absorb more flavor, and get crispier. To make this a complete meal you really should serve it with Yellow (saffron) rice and black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
This was a great and easy to make dish for very little money. I had a can of government shredded pork, so instead of boiling it for 60 to 90 minutes, I did all the same things, but used one cup of water and boiled it until it until the water evaporated. I also used reconstituted lime juice, leaf thyme from a spice tub, and ground pepper corns. I didn't have any cilantro, so at the end I used two pinches of cumin instead. I will make this again for an upcoming dinner event. Thanks, ZIBBLER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No time? No problem!
No time? No problem!

Eat well fast with our collection of quick and easy recipes.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down great pies every day right up to Thanksgiving. Join the fun!

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Okinawa Shoyu Pork

What's cooking in Colorado Springs? The best kind of Asian comfort food.

How to Make Pulled Pork

Make this succulent barbequed pork dish in your oven.

Maple-Garlic Marinated Pork Tenderloin

See how to make this sweet, tasty, grilled pork tenderloin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States