Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I definitely used more garlic, more cumin, more cilantro, I even added black beans to to once and it was great. This a great recipe but I find that you need at least 6/7 hrs for the beef to get tender. Plus, if you want some heat, add a jalapeño for that extra kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
My first review, I had to review because this is so delicious I'll make it for friends in the future. Made exactly as written except, I used fresh basil (no cilantro on hand & my basil needed trimming). I also mixed all the ingredients in a big bowl before pouring over meat in crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
I read the reviews and tweaked the recipe according to the reviewer's recommendations. For example, I used an entire head of garlic and a little less tomato paste. I also added two packets of Sazon and salt and pepper. I used flank steak but my Cuban boyfriend suggested skirt steak which I will try next. We both enjoyed the outcome very much but I think I would add another green pepper and slice them a little thicker next time. Very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
I first added this recipe to my box 5 years ago. I've made it countless times since. This is incredibly tasty and as close to authentic as I've experienced (based on my limited experiences with Cuban restaurants). One of my favorite all time recipes, and I usually serve it with Cuban style black beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberjoih

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North East, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This was good and quick to get started. I did add more garlic and a little chipotle chili and I deglazed the pan with the broth and mixed all the ingredients in the pan before adding to the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
This wasn't bad but it is missing something. It's flavorful (juicy etc) but not seasoned too well. I will keep the recipe and play around with the spices some. I had to add garlic (like many suggested) and a TON of salt. I followed the recipe as it was written but added a little minced onion rather than regular onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VictoriaSe49896

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2015
Just a few changes for us and it was really good. I used a red bell pepper instead of a green one. Also agree that more garlic is better, I used 5 cloves and will use 6 next time. I also left out the cilantro, it tastes like soap to me (and about 10% of the population, so I hear). Followed the rest of the recipe as is. Cooked on low for about 8 hours, but then put it in the refrigerator overnight and re-heated for dinner the next evening. Out of the crock pot it did have a heavy tomato taste, but after allowing the batch to sit overnight the flavors blended well. White rice and black beans as a side, it was only missing the plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
I read one of these reviews where the poster combined this recipe with WHITE rice. I grew up in Tampa - most authentic Cubans I know would find that combo a big faux pas - YELLOW or SAFFRON rice with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2015
Cuban Ropa Vieja Haiku: "Taste was pretty bland, too much tomato flavor. Ate with black beans rice." Easy enough to put together, and smelled incredible, but something about the end result was just a big yawn, possibly b/c there was neither salt nor pepper, and possibly because the tomato paste and sauce dominated. Served ours alongside Goya's black beans and rice recipe, and while that, coupled w/ the addition of cilantro and salsa made this better, it wasn't enjoyed enough by us to warrant making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States