Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This was a little too "tomatoey" for me although the taste in and of itself is quite good. I might try it with pulled pork next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This was excellent with a few tweaks... I used a medium-large onion instead of small, added extra cilantro and garlic, and also added some black pepper, oregano and a small bay leaf. Because my tomato sauce was unsalted, I also needed to add salt. I used top round steaks, because they're what I had on hand. After cooking on low all day, they were falling apart. I think flank steak would have been equally good, if not a little better, because of the stringier texture. I served this with brown rice, black beans and fried plantains. It's a keeper with the added spices, but seems a little bland as written. We like things spicy, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Tastes more like beef stew than Ropa Vieja. The entire recipe needs to be reworked to be closer to the Ropa Vieja in my favorite Cuban Restaurant. To much tomato flaver. Next time I will substitute red wine for half the tomato paste. I doubled the garlic and yet you still barely taste it. I will add more next time. It does need salt, probably 1-2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This has officially become my boyfriend's favorite dinner recipe. He asks me for it all the time. Thanks for the recipe. I actually use chicken and chicken broth instead of beef to mix it up a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
go easy on the cumin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This was so very good. Lots of flavor. We had it over plain white rice and had leftovers a few days later over baked potatoes. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
Made this just as called for except because other reviewers had mentioned adding extra garlic (and we really like garlic) I did put in extra, and then used a sprinkle of garlic powder too. I used "Mystery Meat" that was frozen in our freezer...it may have been pork rather than beef and it had also been frozen in a marinade, which is why I couldn't tell for sure. But... obviously by my 5 star rating it was still really good! Everyone really liked it; kids included. I thought there was a ton of flavor! A few times we have been disappointed on allrecipes.com recipes because they have been seasoned enough, never because they were over seasoned. This one is NOT lacking in flavor or seasoning. Will definitely make again, and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is a simple recipe with outstanding results. I serve it with the traditional black beans and rice with a green salad. I am not Cuban, but I lived in Miami for several years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brryko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
This came out nicely. Next time I'll deglaze my searing pan with a small amount of beef broth and dump that into the slow cooker so I don't lose any of the tasty flavor. I'll also try to only use maybe 1/4 cup of beef broth and omit the tomato sauce, because mine came out saucier than I'd have liked. For a stew it came out perfect, but I like this dish best served on grilled garlic bread, as my favorite Cuban restaurant offers, and it was just too wet for that. The flank steak was fantastic in this, thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
The flavors of this dish are wonderful. But, if you aren't that keen on a tomato-based sauce, you might not care for it. But, the cumin and other seasonings are truly as good as at the Cuban restaurants. I served it with long grain rice, Cuban black beans and yeast rolls. I barely had enough of the beef for one serving of leftovers! It was that good and so easy to do in the Crock Pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Redbird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States