Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I'm honestly not sure what ropa vieja should taste like, I was just looking for a way to use up some flank steak. This was just okay. Easy, but not overly impressive, a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This recipe was very easy to make and the taste was enjoyed by all, so for a busy weeknight meal, I will definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I added two sliced red peppers to this, and made a batch of sofrito sauce ( http://www.tasteofcuba.com/sofrito.html ) to this recipe. The kids put theirs in large tortillas and ate it like fajitas, I had mine spread out on a bed of black beans and rice. This is a delicious dish, that you can experiment with and make in several different ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Have made it 3x already, the first time was to bring to a party so I decided that the easiest way to served it was on tostadas,(fried/baked corn tortillas) what a success!! I came back with a clean plate. So the next 2x I kept the tostadas as a most do. I added, as some suggested here, more garlic, 2 baggies of Goya seasoning, 3 bay leaves, capers, oh and salt. Leftovers? I had leftos the last time and decided to make sliders, just added bbq sauce and nobody noticed it was the same meat as the night before!! money saver! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
So good - tasted authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This recipe is really good. I added a can of fire roasted tomatoes (drained), a packet of Goya Sazon, a handful of olives and only used half can on tomato sauce... I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricancook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I started this recipe at 11 am and cooked it in the crock pot on low until 8pm. I seared the flank steak in oil and after I removed it and placed it in the crock pot, I added the beef broth to the pan to scrape up all the bits and then added that to the crock pot. I mistakenly put too much vinegar but added some brown sugar towards the end to balance it and it came out delicious. I also more than doubled the garlic and added red wine and spanish olives. I'm sure it will be even better next time when I use the right amount of vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Excellent recipe, but for cubans must be accompanied with white rice and avocado salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
My husband liked this dish... a lot. A whole lot. I used leftover beef from my freezer (roast, leftover from another Allrecipes favorite of mine, "Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast", which I make often). I used a whole head (17 cloves) of garlic, and about a 1/4 cup fresh cilantro. ( I literally laughed out loud when the recipe called for 1 teaspoon cilantro. I don't think so :) Unfortunately, the bell pepper didn't make it to my basket at the market, so I made the dish without it (which bummed me out). I chose to serve this dish with steamed white rice, and a bean medley cooked in beef broth with earthy spices. The beans and rice are a MUST with this dish. I do not think this recipe rates 5 stars without the beans and rice on the side. But, together, the dish is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I make this all the time, and I love it. I think it is great the way it is listed, but I've made variations here and there. Usually, I will just add extra peppers or sometimes I'll use sofrito. I made this once for my father, who is from Cuba, and he loved it! Served over white rice with a side of black beans, sliced spanish olives and with plantain chips, SO GOOD! Oh and the leftovers make for an amazing filling for a sandwich. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie G.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States