Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
It was delightful. I gave it a 4 because I had to make some adjustments. However I can't complain at all this recipe made it possible to cook a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
This is excellent. It has become a staple in our house. Any extra we just freeze and save for a night when we get home late.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Great recipe, I love Ropa Vieja -
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I thought this was fantastic! My measurements were a little different (more beef broth and less tomato stuff) because that's what I had. I also used a chuck roast and added a can of green chilies as well as a packet of sazon, salt and pepper, a little more vinegar. I thought it was better the next day. With due respect to the Cubans, thank you for the flavorful meat, but we can be flexible enough to eat it with rice, in a tortilla, or inside a chewy French roll. YUMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
I tried this recipe and the meat was bland. After the meat cooked, I shredded the meat, added sofrito, more garlic and cumin. It was ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Albin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This turned out well (Personally, it could use a bit more flavor). My Cuban Mother-in-law would be proud.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I actually made this recipe for my Cuban mother-in-law. I have to admit, it tastes exactly like hers. The only change I made was to add a sliced red bell pepper. I used the low setting on my cooker. Cooked for 6 hours, then shredded, then returned to slow cooker for another hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This is a really good recipe. I used a chuck cross rib roast and I followed the advice of others to add capers to the dish and it elevated the flavors. I also added some lime juice, brown sugar, and a packet of Goya sazon. I was afraid that it was a little too soupy, but the beef just soaked it up after sitting awhile. My friend thought I added cornstarch or a thickening agent and was amazed to learn that I didn't use any. This is great over rice. This is definitely a recipe I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
lol yup ,I'm Cuban and I agree with you Mimi,we don't eat tortillas,unless we go to a Mexican restaurant lol,we serve Ropa Vieja with ,black beans and white rice :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lizwizerd
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Super easy and tastes fantastic ! Left it in the slow cooker all day and the meat was like butter! So tender and moist , I added a half table spoon of sugar and a packet of Sazon towards the ends and that just brought out all the flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 397) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States