Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I just tossed everything into the crockpot without browning......near the end added some small colored bell peppers for a nice color addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe on Sunday and i loved it. It was very easy to make. I think the hardest part about it was finding the flank steak because most grocery stores do not carry it. To my surprise my local publix had it in stock.. I cooked it on my stove top because i really don't like my slow cooker, it took about 3 hrs on top of the stove. I followed one of the suggestion above about seasoning the meat. I seasoned it with the regular seasons i use and then seared it in the pot. I added the rest of the ingredients with the addition of 1 cup of water. I also used half of the can of tomato paste. i put sugar in to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. It turned out great. My boyfriend loved.. i would make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Haven't tried yet, but have a chuck roast in the freezer begging for this recipe. Just a note --- whenever I use a meat recipe such as this where no salt and pepper are listed among the ingredients, I always generously salt and pepper the meat before before cooking it or adding it to the slow cooker. The dish usually turns out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very easy to make! My boyfriend and I went to a Cuban Restaurant a few weeks back and I've been craving this ever since. Found this recipe and made last Monday. Its very easy to assemble, I work a full-time 8-5 job and Zumba after so it get a little tough for me to make us dinner the nights I have Zumba. When I made I use a London Broil and the rest of the ingredients exactly. It turned out wonderfully, and I was able to have a GOOD meal before my class. My boyfriend loved it and wants me to make it again, and that I can do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe and really liked it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This recipe was excellent! So tasty and so easy. I follwed the suggestion to season with Sazon prior to cooking, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The meat was tender and easy to shred, and served with rice and black beans it was a big hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
So easy to make & smelled great while cooking! Delicious as written, though I thought it was even better with a squeeze of lime and sprinkle of kosher salt when I served it. I served with cilantro lime rice and cuban black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly and the meat was nice and tender but the flavor was not there. It had a very heavy tomato taste. Between the tomato paste and tomato sauce, I understand why. I have had ropa Vienna many times and this did not hit the mark. I am going to research and see if there are Spanish spices missing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Love this! I let this cook as slow and long as possible to get the most tender meat. I use a roast instead of flank steak because at my small town store the flank steak (if they ever have it in) costs over twice as much. I add a couple more cloves of garlic because I like it. We serve with small flour tortillas, cilantro/lime rice and black beans with salsa and queso fresco. I'm getting ready to make this again right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Followed the recipe exactly and used stew meat instead of flank steak. This was delicious and a hit with the whole family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States