Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Extremely tough and flavorless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This is so easy to make and very good. Have had it at a few Cuban restaurants and this is very close. I highly recommend trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mlvee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
I cooked this as an example of Cuban food, and it turned out pretty well. http://hetzelkitchen.blogspot.com/2012/04/cuba.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I'm honestly not sure what ropa vieja should taste like, I was just looking for a way to use up some flank steak. This was just okay. Easy, but not overly impressive, a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
This recipe was very easy to make and the taste was enjoyed by all, so for a busy weeknight meal, I will definitely make it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I added two sliced red peppers to this, and made a batch of sofrito sauce ( http://www.tasteofcuba.com/sofrito.html ) to this recipe. The kids put theirs in large tortillas and ate it like fajitas, I had mine spread out on a bed of black beans and rice. This is a delicious dish, that you can experiment with and make in several different ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Have made it 3x already, the first time was to bring to a party so I decided that the easiest way to served it was on tostadas,(fried/baked corn tortillas) what a success!! I came back with a clean plate. So the next 2x I kept the tostadas as a most do. I added, as some suggested here, more garlic, 2 baggies of Goya seasoning, 3 bay leaves, capers, oh and salt. Leftovers? I had leftos the last time and decided to make sliders, just added bbq sauce and nobody noticed it was the same meat as the night before!! money saver! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
So good - tasted authentic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
This recipe is really good. I added a can of fire roasted tomatoes (drained), a packet of Goya Sazon, a handful of olives and only used half can on tomato sauce... I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricancook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I started this recipe at 11 am and cooked it in the crock pot on low until 8pm. I seared the flank steak in oil and after I removed it and placed it in the crock pot, I added the beef broth to the pan to scrape up all the bits and then added that to the crock pot. I mistakenly put too much vinegar but added some brown sugar towards the end to balance it and it came out delicious. I also more than doubled the garlic and added red wine and spanish olives. I'm sure it will be even better next time when I use the right amount of vinegar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States