Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I cooked this last night in my crock pot and it was delicious! I always wanted to make ropa vieja. I tweaked the receipe a little. 1. I punctured the flank steak with a fork on both sides, then I rubbed in mccormick grill mates steak seasoning, garlic powder and Adobo Light before i seared it. 2. After I transfered the steak to the crock pot and used the left over oil in the pan to brown the onions. 3. Instead of beef broth, I used 1-Knorr Tomato Chicken Boullion disolved in one cup of hot water (brings out the beef flavor in the steak) and pour it on top of the browned onions and mixed the tomato paste and sauce then 4. pour the stock and the rest of the ingredients in the crock pot. 5.I used yellow/orange/red sweet little sweet peppers as well instead of the green pepper. It was a SUCCESS!!! coming from a puertorican ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Waikele, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This had very little flavor. I had to add a significant amount of cumin, garlic and salt to give this any kind of flavor. I didn't get the cuban flavors I hoped for. Definitely not worth it, considering the price of beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
AWESOME!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Missing flavor: salt, spice. This recipe smelled great, it looked great, but when my guests and I dug in, we all sort of looked at each other. They were very polite, but we all agreed there was very little flavor. I'm sure I didn't make any mistakes. Compared to cuban restaurants, this recipe is missing salt and a minor amount of spiciness. I'm not giving it 1 star, but having to pass a salt shaker around your table is embarrassing. And no, we're not salt fiends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Very tasty! Didn't have tomato paste, so subbed a 27 oz can tomato sauce & allowed it to slow simmer for 45 minutes. Added 2 bay leaves, subbed 1 tsp key lime juice for the vinegar, omitted cilantro (hubs hates it) & added extra cumin to taste. Kids & hubs all really enjoyed it, not realizing it was a reasonably healthy dish :-). Served with Cuban black beans, Jasmine Rice & a tossed salad...very enjoyable meal!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I just tossed everything into the crockpot without browning......near the end added some small colored bell peppers for a nice color addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I tried this recipe on Sunday and i loved it. It was very easy to make. I think the hardest part about it was finding the flank steak because most grocery stores do not carry it. To my surprise my local publix had it in stock.. I cooked it on my stove top because i really don't like my slow cooker, it took about 3 hrs on top of the stove. I followed one of the suggestion above about seasoning the meat. I seasoned it with the regular seasons i use and then seared it in the pot. I added the rest of the ingredients with the addition of 1 cup of water. I also used half of the can of tomato paste. i put sugar in to cut the acidity of the tomatoes. It turned out great. My boyfriend loved.. i would make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
Haven't tried yet, but have a chuck roast in the freezer begging for this recipe. Just a note --- whenever I use a meat recipe such as this where no salt and pepper are listed among the ingredients, I always generously salt and pepper the meat before before cooking it or adding it to the slow cooker. The dish usually turns out just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Very easy to make! My boyfriend and I went to a Cuban Restaurant a few weeks back and I've been craving this ever since. Found this recipe and made last Monday. Its very easy to assemble, I work a full-time 8-5 job and Zumba after so it get a little tough for me to make us dinner the nights I have Zumba. When I made I use a London Broil and the rest of the ingredients exactly. It turned out wonderfully, and I was able to have a GOOD meal before my class. My boyfriend loved it and wants me to make it again, and that I can do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I followed the recipe and really liked it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States