Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This recipe is super basic...I had to change this recipe considerably to make it taste good. I used sherry vinegar instead of white, used 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 2 tablespoons of cumin, a small green and red bell pepper for color/taste, 1 large shallot, 4 cloves of smashed garlic, 1/4 cup pitted and halved pimiento stuffed olives, 3 tablespoons of tomato paste (instead of a can), a can of crushed tomatoes with jalapeno instead of tomato sauce, ground fresh pepper, 2 bay leaves, and I added 1/2 cup of red wine. If this is going to be in your slow cooker for more than 4 hours then you need to increase the amount of liquid you use. I usually put in 1/4 cup for each hour! Also, you can serve with black beans which you cook with soffrito and plain white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Hoboken, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Love it. I used flank steak the first time but, chuck roast was better the second time (much more tender). I also add olives...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooksville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I used a chuck roast because it was 1/2 the price of flank steak, used a sweet red pepper along with the green pepper. What a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marybeth Critz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I didn't find this authentic tasting at all. A bit disappointed. I LOVE Cuban food, have eaten a lot of it but this just didn't do anything for me. I don't think I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I used a sirloin blade steak (couldnt find flank) and 1/4 cup more of beef broth. Other than that- followed exactly. cooked on low for 6.5 hours. Served with spanish rice and grilled tortillas. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Was easy to make and came out yummy. I should have cut the steak in shorter pieces so it's not so stringy. I had it with tortilla wraps, nom nom. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kawin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edison, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I tried this today .. I used more garlic and cumin just like the reviewers said. it tasted good .. just not great.. but it's good for a change. I would do it again .. but I think next time I will add a little bit of olive oil on top of it before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Dax liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
After I read the comments about "tastelessness", I seasoned the meat before browning with salt and pepper. And second, when I re-read the recipe, I thought maybe the author forgot to write in Oregano. I added 2 tsp. Worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
It was delightful. I gave it a 4 because I had to make some adjustments. However I can't complain at all this recipe made it possible to cook a delicious meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 376) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Barbeque

See how to make super-easy, melt-in-the-mouth BBQ beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States