Cuban Ropa Vieja Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Turns out fantastic everytime. It has become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Horton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2015
I've made this several times and it always gets rave reviews from everyone. The only things I've changed is to sometimes use chuck instead of flank steak (only because it's cheaper), and usually omit the cilantro because my family doesn't love the taste of it. Amazing recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
I've never had Cuban food before so I can't comment on authenticity or the proper way this dish should be served, but taste wise, this was fantastic! We did use a chuck roast instead of flank for personal preference and served it as suggested by the author of this recipe on tortillas, with jack cheese, sour cream and cilantro. It was a nice change from our usual tacos......even though I know this isn't supposed to be tacos. I did also salt & pepper the beef as I browned it, to me, that's just a given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
A very delicious recipe. A big hit in my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is amazing! My boyfriend and his son could not get enough. Must make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Excellent! I used a pot roast and served it over garlic mashed potatoes. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
really liked this. it was easy to make. I did drain mine at the end, cook down the juice to make a more concentrated flavor with 1/2 cup of white wine, as a reduction sauce. I added the bell pepper at the begining of cooking along with 8-10 serranos because we like a little heat. At the end of cooking when meat was shredded and while the sauce was cooking down, I sauted another large onion and several more bell peppers cut into strips until tender and then added this to the finished dish because we like more veggies with our meat (we grow produce!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
This recipe is not very authentic but I figured that I would give it a shot anyway. Big mistake - ropa vieja is a savory dish and the can of tomato made it slightly sweet. I also agree with the reviewer that said this wouldn't ever be served with tortillas or sour cream - Cubans eat bread. I wanted to like this but overall it fell flat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Everyone loved it! Kids were asking to take leftovers to school for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by greenthumb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Did not come out at all like I expected. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine Dyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Melt in your Mouth Meatloaf

See how to make delicious meatloaf in the slow cooker.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States