Cuban Pork Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
The meat was very tender, but the flavor of the marinade was so off-putting. Was it an aftertaste left behind; pungent, but not in a good way? I won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by SANDRA_92083
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I ended up leaving this in the marinade in the fridge for 4 days - just didn't get around to it! Then I decided to crock pot the meat instead of using the oven, it was absolutely FABULOUS. The meat was super tender (of course - I did 8 hours on low), and the flavor was wonderful. Both of my boys LOVED this meal. Served with cheesy mashed potatoes and steamed mixed veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDRA_92083

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hiram, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Not sure how rosemary, dill, and oregano equate to Cuban style flavors. Maybe this needs to just be in a just "roast pork" category.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
The flavor on this was ok, but it wasn't anything great. I was expecting a much stronger flavor for how much garlic and spice was in it but the meat didn't seem to absorb much of the flavor. Next time I'd probably make the juice into a sauce to serve with the meat to get more of the spice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JesusIsTheWay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
this is a great recipe, I crush the garlic, add paprika and salt, then add 1 tblspn olive oil to make a rub. Rub over roast, marinate in wine then roast
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
This is great! It was great used later in the eveining by my husband and son for sandwiches and made amazing taco meat!!! I cooked a 2# frozen roast in a slow cooker for about 6 hours on high- was falling apart when done. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Really good and tasty! I used 2 1/2 pounds of pork tenderloin which worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I belong to a group that meets every 6 weeks for dinner and converstation. I served this dish. Everyone loved it from the man who likes things with a lot of flavor(the garlic) to a older woman who tends toward very mild tastes. The only thing I did differently is that I cooked the roast in an oven bag and I think that helped keep it juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Good - I took previous advise and marinated for 48 hours. The roast turned out a bit dry. I think next time I may shred the roast after cooking and simmer in it's juices to moisten it up. I used the leftovers (as 5 lbs. is quite a bit) to make "Pork Tamale Pie" - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
My husband and I both agree, we prefer our normal method of cooking pork roast - plop it in the oven with some carrots and potatoes, a little bit of soy sauce, seasoned with garlic poweder, salt, pepper and paprika. No fuss, no marinating. I wasn't fond of the wine taste this recipe gave the meat, and the garlic stuffed in it had an odd texture I didn't like. FWIW, I used a 2-lb roast, used the called-for amounts of spice but halved the amount of wine and marinated for about 24 hours. On the upside, this did prompt me to get out my old dutch oven and re-season it. I'll be using it now for all my roasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States