Cuban Pork Roast II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2000
I marinated the roast for only 24 hours; I think it might need at least 48. Also, it was not as flavorful as it could have been, (despite using a total of 16 cloves of garlic) so next time I will definitely salt and pepper the roast before cooking it. Otherwise, the marinade made it pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
I belong to a group that meets every 6 weeks for dinner and converstation. I served this dish. Everyone loved it from the man who likes things with a lot of flavor(the garlic) to a older woman who tends toward very mild tastes. The only thing I did differently is that I cooked the roast in an oven bag and I think that helped keep it juicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2000
I used a pork shoulder roast. Was hesitant to use so much garlic, even though we love garlic. Use the suggested amount. The house smells wonderful. I just took it out of the oven and UUUM its delicious. GAve the bone to the dog, Mr. Magoo, I think he likes it also. I marinated the roast for 2 days. 2 THUMBS UP !!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2000
Taste was good. I added cornstarch to pan drippings for a tasty gravy when reheating leftovers and liked it even better. Overall the roast was juicy and flavorful without a great deal of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2000
I really didn't like the flavor of the marinade. I didn't like the rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2004
My husband and I both agree, we prefer our normal method of cooking pork roast - plop it in the oven with some carrots and potatoes, a little bit of soy sauce, seasoned with garlic poweder, salt, pepper and paprika. No fuss, no marinating. I wasn't fond of the wine taste this recipe gave the meat, and the garlic stuffed in it had an odd texture I didn't like. FWIW, I used a 2-lb roast, used the called-for amounts of spice but halved the amount of wine and marinated for about 24 hours. On the upside, this did prompt me to get out my old dutch oven and re-season it. I'll be using it now for all my roasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2003
This was very yummy. I only used a 2lb roast, tripled the rosemary (I LOVE rosemary) and left out the dill. It only took 45 minutes to cook at 325, but I do 20 minutes per pound because I like my pork to be medium, not well done. Very good recipe; will definately be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
This is one of my husbands favorites and my family has requested a copy of this recipe each and everytime I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
Really good and tasty! I used 2 1/2 pounds of pork tenderloin which worked really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
Good - I took previous advise and marinated for 48 hours. The roast turned out a bit dry. I think next time I may shred the roast after cooking and simmer in it's juices to moisten it up. I used the leftovers (as 5 lbs. is quite a bit) to make "Pork Tamale Pie" - very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Roast Pork with Blueberry Port Sauce

Tender roasted pork shoulder with a sensational port and blueberry sauce.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States