Cuban Pork Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Very traditional Cuban pork. I reduce the sherry and add 1/4 c white vinegar. I also slice a large onion and add that to the marinade. Works well roasted in the oven or in a crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2003
Excellent! Cooked it in the crock pot and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
This did not turn out good for me. I sampled the "paste" of the cumin, etc. and it was delicious... but something happened after cooking. It turned more sour than flavorful. Maybe it was because I slow cooked for 6 hours (like some reviewers did) instead of BAKING 2-1/2 hours.?? I used a pork loin roast thinking it would be similar enough;maybe it wasn't. ?? I will give it another try without the crockpot and with the "pork shoulder tied roast".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by somethingdifferentagain?!
Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gaylord, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Of all the recipes I have found on this site, I use this the most! It makes the most amazing medianoches sandwiches ever (check out this recipe as well). I use dried, rather than fresh spices, but still cook them in a pan with crushed garlic. I generally don't marinate, but instead place the pork and marinade in a crock pot with a cup of chicken broth. 8-10 hours on low depending on the cut of meat. I have also used this recipe with beef tenderloin and shredded it to make soft corn tacos with onion and cilantro. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul is hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This was absolutely fabulous! I used Swift/Kirkland's signature pork sirloin tip roast, certified by the AHA, only 20 calories of fat per 4 oz. It was so tender and juicy and wonderful. Served with allrecipe.com's "roasted root vegetables with apple juice" & "black beans and rice" & shredded romaine and a mango salsa for a real cuban flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I made this using a single loin pork roast in my crockpot, cooking on low for 6 hours. It turned out nicely, but I felt that the lemon/lime juices had somehow overpowered the dish. I may try again, omitting those and strictly using the sherry/orange juice for liquids, which would result in a more subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Our family uses a very similar set of ingredients with only a few minor changes. Whole cumin seeds manually ground up adds an interesting dimension to the flavor. A NOTE FOR OTHER READERS:DO NOT USE PORK LOIN!!! Pork loin is not the same as pork shoulder. The texture, taste an consistency of the meat is not the same. Use a pork shoulder (bone-in or boneless) or shoulder butt (aka, boston butt) which is the top part of the shoulder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2000
My family loved this recipe. We often eat at a Cuban restaurant near our home and this was as tasty and tender as the restaurants. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
This dish was excellent, meat was very tender. For leftovers, I fried strips of the meat with grilled onions for fajitas. Also tried the cuban medianoches from this site and they are delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2002
This really did taste like the cuban restaraunt. It was excellent. I will make this again soon. My husband thought it smelled quite garlicly while it was marinating, but it turned out perfect. Thank you Christine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States