Cuban Pork Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Tasted a bit too sour for my taste, I'd make it again with modifications. My wife loved it, as she likes a wider variety of taste with pork then I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
I made this recipe hoping that it would taste like the Cuban restaurants in Florida. Sadly it did not, the cumin was a bit strong when i used the recommended amount. I am not saying that this was a bad tasting recipe but I would probably use less cumin next time as well as pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
I did a quick version of this using regular cumin and just mixed it all together to marinate a pork tenderloin. My husband was craving a cuban pork sandwich so after cooking (20 min. per lb.) we sliced it up and served it on some nice rolls with a touch of mayo and melted meunster cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Our family uses a very similar set of ingredients with only a few minor changes. Whole cumin seeds manually ground up adds an interesting dimension to the flavor. A NOTE FOR OTHER READERS:DO NOT USE PORK LOIN!!! Pork loin is not the same as pork shoulder. The texture, taste an consistency of the meat is not the same. Use a pork shoulder (bone-in or boneless) or shoulder butt (aka, boston butt) which is the top part of the shoulder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Came out right the second time I made it. I used the crockpot the first time. Worked better for me in the oven. The flavor was amazing. I didnt find it overly citrus at all. I also added some emeril's essence one of the best things Ive made from allrecipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2008
If I could, I would give this recipe 4 1/2 stars. Followed the recipe exactly, except I cooked it in the crock pot. Marinade is wonderful but even after marinading it for two days, the pork didn't pick up as much of the flavor as I thought it would. Having said that, it was still very good. And was the closest I have come to making a great Cuban Pork Roast. It was even better the next day. I will definitely try this again with a little tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Amazing!!!!! I wanted to marry myself - this was soooo good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
Good but too soupy for a main course. Added alot of saffron rice and black beans (yellow rice and frijoles negroes)when serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MUDMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lilburn, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Of all the recipes I have found on this site, I use this the most! It makes the most amazing medianoches sandwiches ever (check out this recipe as well). I use dried, rather than fresh spices, but still cook them in a pan with crushed garlic. I generally don't marinate, but instead place the pork and marinade in a crock pot with a cup of chicken broth. 8-10 hours on low depending on the cut of meat. I have also used this recipe with beef tenderloin and shredded it to make soft corn tacos with onion and cilantro. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul is hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Great, especially for a party. Used a 4lb loin in the crock pot, drained and shredded the pork and served with tortillas, jalapeño and cilantro dip. Next time I will reserve some of the liquid, as the pork dried out a bit after it was shredded.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pusan, Pusan-Gwangyoksi, South Korea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Simple Savory Pork Roast

Fresh rosemary and garlic salt are the keys to a super-simple pork roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States