Cuban Pork Roast I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
This was awesome. Followed exactly. I really liked the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunchyne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Don't have cherry so use cramberry and turn out so good! The most important my husband love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cinnken
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
This was yummy. After having a Cuban Restaurant near our office a few years ago, I was interested in looking for recipes that would remind us of the good flavors.... I used a 2.5LB. pork loin. I made it in the crockpot and because of time constraints and waiting for a few ingredients that needed to be picked up, I started the roast with some chicken broth for the first couple of hours. I poked holes in the roast with a fork. When all the ingredients arrived, I drained out the chicken broth and proceeded per the recipe, except I did add a little bit of high quality vinegar instead of the lemon juice and simply squeezed the juice of half a lime. Yum! I made it with a package of "yellow rice" purchased at the store and used the chicken broth set aside for the rice. I also added a pinch of cumin to the rice. The two dishes blended splendidly! The family had a hard time waiting for it to be ready to eat, it took about 7 1/2 hours in the crockpot. I also made fried pineapple for dessert with ice cream. Note, I used 2.5 lbs pork loin because that's what I had. I didn't reduce other ingredients. Because I used such a lean cut of meat, it was on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cinnken
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Love, love, love it! I have made this recipe twice now in the slow cooker. Once for dinner and then again for a potluck at work. Shredding the pork makes for the best taco filling. So much flavor! Everyone raved about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Absolutely wonderful!!! Made exactly as written except for cooking an hour longer because we live at 7000 ft. Doing the paste in the small bowl of the food processor DID NOT WORK. It was such a mess that I had to start over, wasting the cumin seed, pepper, and garlic. The mortor and pestle worked much better. I seved it with Cuban Black Bean Salad, Grilled Pineapple, and Cafe Con Leche Custard for dessert. My husband said the whole meal was much better than anything you could get in a restaurant. Definetely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Excellent! My husband actually cooked this in the crockpot. Didn't marinade the pork loin, just added 2 cups of broth to all other ingredients and let it cook (on high on accident for 6 hours instead of on low all day). The flavor is phenominal!!! We loved the truly Cuban flavor. Will definitely make this again... and again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This is a favorite at our house. The marinade is great on chicken, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Great mix of flavors, and a unique sauce to spoon over the pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
This pork dish was really good. However, this needs to be cooked to 170 degrees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is a very good recipe. I change it up a bit. I add a large Spanish onion and half the cumin (I use ground). I also don't sear the meat prior to putting in the crockpot since searing seals the juices in and won't allow the absorbtion of the citrus juices. There's nothing better than roast Cuban pork!! BTW, my Tampa Cuban friends love my pork roasts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How NOT to Make Pork Roast, a Cautionary Tale

Watch Chef John mess up a pork roast, and learn how to do it right!

Chef John's Garlic-Studded Roast Pork

See how to make an herb-rubbed, garlic-studded pork shoulder roast.

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States