Cuban Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The advise mimosa1028 gave is head on,sofrito is a must in any cuban dish, in addition add a splash of Goya Red or white wine, adobo and sazon to taste and a pinch of cumin now thats cuban!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
To be honest I was a tad leary of this recipe. It has so many weird combinations of opposites like raisins and green olives, but I gave it a try and really loved it. This is so tasty.I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great base recipe and halved recipe because only cooking for 2. Modifications I made were using all red bell pepper, 8 oz black olives, 8 oz tomato sauce + 2 cups water and decreased raisins to 1/4 cup. Also added 2 small potatoes (diced) and about 1 tbsp of capers. Delicious with black beans and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is exactly like my Grandmother Vallejo used to make and we also eat it with black beans and white rice with sweet plantains.all that is missing is the flan for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Much better with the cilantro. I cooked everthing and was finished. I forgot to buy cilantro. It tasted like something was missing. I quickly went to the store and bought the already chopped cilantro and mixed it in the food. Boy, what a difference! Even the picky daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
What a delightful dish! Ok, I did make some changes after reading the reviews. I made half a recipe. I sauted the onions and garlic, then made the sofrito by adding to pot 16 oz. of tomato sauce, an equal amount of water, the chopped sweet red pepper, 1 tsp. oregano, 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. coriander, 3/4 cup raisins, 1-5oz. jar of green olives sliced in half, a half jar of the olive brine, 1/8 tsp. hot pepper sauce, 1/8 tsp. red pepper flakes. I brought this to a boil, added the uncooked ground beef and let it all cook down. It tastes fantastic! The hot sauce and red pepper flakes did not make it hot, just mellow. I am serving it over brown rice. I was going to make coconut rice as another reviewer did, but decided the raisins made it sweet enough. I have not had much Cuban food in my lifetime and this is a real treat! Thanks to the other reviewers for their good comments, and thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'gal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Made this twice..this is what Ive learned. Instead of tomato sauce...Sofrioto (similar to tom sauce but has lots of herbs blended that really add to flavor) it is made by Goya can be found in the ethnic food isle (WalMart). The first time I made this I used Sofrito but the 2nd time I used tomato paste...big difference in taste. I invited my Cuban grandmother over for dinner and she said "Its good...but you need to use Sofrito and wheres the capers and bay leaf?" She uses bayleave in everything and she is a 90yr old Cuban who can cook her tail off. Next time...I will follow diections but modify it a bit using only Sofrito, 1/2 the raisins, 2oz capers and don't forget grandmas bay leaf! TIP: this tatses great but its the best 2-3 days after its made when the olives seem to really add even more flavor. I LUV IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Garcia Glass

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Deliciosa ! I substituted the cilantro for fresh oregano, added cumin and sazon with azafran. I also did one can of tomato sauce and one of tomato paste since I like soupy and also added a dash of red wine ! My picky Gringo husband just loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puertorican Cheesehead

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
As a Cuban American, I can attest that this is one of the most common and tastiest dishes we have. For your edification, the are two additional variants on this dish that are available in Miami's Cuban restaurants. The first is called, 'Picadillo al Caballo,' which literally means Picadillo on a horse. This variant adds very small, cubed, fried potatoes on topd of the picadillo, which is itself on top of the white rice. The second variant is called, 'Picadillo al Caballo con un sombrero,' which again literally means Picadillo on a horse with a hat on. This variant is the same as the previous one except that it is topped off with a fried egg on the very top. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I've never even had Cuban food, but wanted to make something for a friend who grew up in Miami and misses it. I have to admit I was nervous about tasting it after looking at the ingredients...but it's good! I followed one person's advice and left out the cilantro to make it more authentic (used it today to make cilantro pesto). This a unique, surprising dish; several of my (very white American) friends have tried it and liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States