Cuban Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Well, I would not add cilantro - maybe they are trying to make a different version of Picadillo - but cilantro is not really a Cuban herb. My best friend is Cuban and her Mom gave me a recipe straight from Cuba and they use Cumin and Oregano. She also told me to add Potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I've made this twice now. The first time, I used store bought safrito. The second time, I made my own, using the same spices on the sofrito ingredients list. Tomato paste, onion, coriander, onion powder, paprika, garlic powder, oregano, pepper. The first time, I didn't like the occasional big bites of sweet raisins so the next time, I added very few. Then I found myself missing the sweet. Next time, I'll add a few more raisins (but still not as much as the recipe calls for) but chop them finely. First time I served it in warm corn tortillas. Liked that. Second time with coconut rice. It was great both ways but the flavors over power the coconut flavor. I think using the coconut milk is a waste of fat and calories for this reason. Good recipe. We love green olives around here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Weslaco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I absolutely loved this recipe. I have been cooking Cuban and Mexican food for the past few years now. This is my first attempt at Picadillo. I did make the recipe in a smaller amount (for 2) but there was still enough for leftovers! I did improvise and modify a few ingredients, however. I omitted the cilantro, as no Picadillo recipe I have ever had has had Cilantro in it. It's got a strong flavor when used in a big amount like this recipe calls for. First things first, though, I made some homemade Sofrito as per reccomendation of some other reviews. It really made the meat flavorful for sure. Also, make sure to cook/brown the meat IN the Sofrito, as it adds so much flavor. If you get extra lean ground beef, you don't have to worry about fat or grease. And I added capers, about 2 tbsp worth for a meal for 2. I also used 3/4 of the raisins it called for, as well as the olives. I rinsed the olives before adding to get rid of excess salt. I seasoned my meat with Oregano and Cumin before adding to the Sofrito. I let it sit and kind of marinate in the herbs before cooking. I also let the whole mixture marry in the pan for about an hour, to get the extra flavor out of all the vegetables. Most importantly, I added 2 bay leaves. I think this made a huge difference. I let the Sofrito cook down a bit and reduce before adding the meat, also. It came out perfect with all of the modifications I made! Give it a try and I'm sure your family will absolutely love it. I let my kids try it - A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah McCormick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
My husband, 18-yr-old daughter and I just loved this. We incorporated a lot of the suggestions: added 1/4c rinsed capers, used 1c golden raisins, one 6oz can of tomato paste AND 3 tomatoes chopped; 1/3 c fresh cilantro; used only 1c sliced green olives. We served it with the Coconut Jasmine Rice another poster suggested (Yummy, A++ on that rice!). Recipe makes enough for 2nds tonight and lunches tomorrow. Thanks for sharing this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewelsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This recipe is easy and really good. It's different than the usual fare but simple to put together. I made it using the "sofrito" sauce made ahead of time. Only problem was the sauce needs to be on really low and stirred often to prevent the tomato scorching on the bottom. Had to salvage it by quickly pouring it into another skillet leaving the burned part behind. It really does need all those raisins and olives. Don't skimp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
The advise mimosa1028 gave is head on,sofrito is a must in any cuban dish, in addition add a splash of Goya Red or white wine, adobo and sazon to taste and a pinch of cumin now thats cuban!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
To be honest I was a tad leary of this recipe. It has so many weird combinations of opposites like raisins and green olives, but I gave it a try and really loved it. This is so tasty.I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Great base recipe and halved recipe because only cooking for 2. Modifications I made were using all red bell pepper, 8 oz black olives, 8 oz tomato sauce + 2 cups water and decreased raisins to 1/4 cup. Also added 2 small potatoes (diced) and about 1 tbsp of capers. Delicious with black beans and rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
This is exactly like my Grandmother Vallejo used to make and we also eat it with black beans and white rice with sweet plantains.all that is missing is the flan for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
Much better with the cilantro. I cooked everthing and was finished. I forgot to buy cilantro. It tasted like something was missing. I quickly went to the store and bought the already chopped cilantro and mixed it in the food. Boy, what a difference! Even the picky daughter loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States