Cuban Picadillo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
I have made this twice now, the only thing I did differently was the color of the peppers (I used orange and yellow). Tremendous hit in my household! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarthsAuntie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I loved this recipe and so sis my family and friends even my friends that hate olives loved it olives and all. Very easy to make and oh so good. I did take some advice from members and used the goya sofrioto sauce and put in the bay leaf and rinsed the olives. We had it for two meals. I can't wait to have this again and my friends want more when I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
is good but try ading a potao in liter pices an ponkig in liter pices too ad a good flavor for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marco

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Rio Piedras, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Awesome recipe although I added adobo and re pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
OMGosh!!!! I have to admit that I was a bit skeptical when I found this recipe. Putting raisins and green olives together with ground beef?? I am SOOOO glad I tried this though. It was fantastic!! I followed some reviewers advice and made sofrito and browned the ground beef in that. Then I poured it into my slow cooker and added all the other ingredients. I also added black beans. I omitted the cilantro and added sazon seasoning. I served it over white rice. DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I am cuban and I have never used cilantro in my picadillo. Also,use diced tomato not paste and add dry sherry and let it simmer.That's the way my family always made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My Cuban abuela gave this a 98/100 for accuracy. She suggested I drain the meat better because she didn't like seeing any extra grease in it. I did NOT use cilantro because I've never seen it used in picadillo either. I only had green peppers and the purple raisins, but the recipe was still very good. I did make a softrito, but abuela said not to bother next time and that it would cut down on the grease too. I'm excited about using this picadillo in papas rellenas and empanadas! I served it with black beans and rice. It was wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was wonderful and I enjoyed it for lunch for several days. I took some suggestions: I bought a jar of Sofrito to cook with the ground beef. I had no idea how much to add, but since I had 3 lbs. of beef I added the entire jar. I left out the tomato paste. I'd like to make my own Sofrito - it tasted a lot like pizza sauce which means I can make something even better. I rinsed the olives to remove some of the salt. I used the full amount of raisins and olives - don't omit either. We ate it over white rice with mixture of black beans and Rotel (with a little cumin added). My teenaged son wasn't crazy about it, but he's just now learning to deal with different flavors. Husband loved it! It's in my Top 10!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Have been making Picadillo since 1959 when I brought the recipe back from Havana. We could visit Cuba then. I followed other reviewers tweeks and started with a sofrito. The meat melted in it and took up flavors. I did miss the allspice I've always used. Anyone else use alspice in this? Great recipe. We all loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob Seale

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Recipe is good but for true authentic cuban picadillo LEAVE OUT CILANTRO! try with white rice & black beans & plantain chips...cuban comfort food at its best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

Salisbury Steak

See how to make quick and easy Salisbury steak with a rich brown gravy.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States