Cuban Mango Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This was nothing like a mousse. Would have tasted good like a frosting or topping, but not very good by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I thought this was quite good. I found the reviews scolding for making a "flat" or bland dessert overly critical. This is a cuban style dessert, not an american style, so respecting their flavors is the way to go into this. I've made a similar dessert in the past and simply processed the mango thru a chinois or food mill to remove the fibers. Also, not all honeys are the same - most in US use the cheapy bear honey and that would not taste good in such a fine dessert. Cuban honey is unique with a light floral scent/taste. Agave sweetener may work, or Cuban honey imported from Canada, but I enjoyed the acacia honey from Italy best. This is a light dessert, creamy and slightly rich - not something that will pack a punch of flavor - but great after a spicy caribbean meal. I top it with a sliver of candied mango and a crunchy tuile cookie. Thank you for posting this recipe - it reminded me it's time to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I disagree with another reviewer who said this was boring, flat, lacked sweetness, and it was lacking in color. If you need the color to be more "mangoish," then just add some food coloring, it won't ruin the flavor. I've never had Cuban mango mousse before, and just maybe it's not supposed to be super sweet. Just saying.............. I halved the recipe, and the only thing I did differently was add a little more lime juice, just because I had some extra. If anything, I think the lime juice enhanced the mousse's flavor. I thought the texture was fine, the flavor mellow, and wouldn't hesitate to make this again. A nice, light ending to a summer meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This is such a great recipe that could go along with a chocolate mousse depending the meal and the time of the day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ricardo Scheuren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caracas, Distrito Federal, Venezuela
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Light, sweet dessert that pairs nicely with a heavier meal. I would recommend using the large mangoes, or double the amount called for if you only have smaller mangoes. It's easy and fast. I served it with a dark chocolate curl on top. It was quite festive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This recipe is very easy to make. I did make a few adjustments to it. Instead of honey I used agave nectar and I also added vanilla & sugar to the whipping cream. This entire recipe can be made in the blender as long as you do it in sections. I blended the mango puree first, then added the whipping cream, and lastly I added the egg white. This mousse is very tasty, but more mango would've made it a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by srberry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
Quick and easy, yes, but that's not worth producing a boring dessert. The mango was so diluted with the whipped cream and egg whites that the flavor, not to mention the color, suffered. The amount of honey didn't seem generous enough so I sweetened the cream with 2 T. of sugar as I whipped it. Even with that I wouldn't call the finished mousse sweet and I can't imagine how even MORE boring and flat this would have been without the additional sweetener. Further, I agree with another reviewer who remarked that the texture was "odd" - indeed it was, and I agree with her that it is because of the puree which still, of course, retains fibrous bits of mango. For a succinct way of describing this, this tastes like mildly mango flavored, non-smooth egg whites. The rich, juicy, sweet mango would have been infinitely better on its own, or even topped with fresh whipped cream. I don't necessarily have to have a rich, sweet, robustly flavored dessert, but this all but put my taste buds to sleep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This mousse is quite easy and very quick. It is light, fluffy, soothing and not too sweet - perfect after a spicy meal. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
This was amazing!!!! I made it for a party and everyone enjoyed this light fluffy fruity treat. It was fast and easy. The only thing i would change is to buy egg whites and not try to do it yourself. It took me forever to seperate and beat the egg whites. But still this was so good and i would recamend it to anyone. I will make this recipe over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
love this recipe! i've made it half a dozen times or so, and it always turns out great, and garners many compliments. just thought i'd let everyone know...i sometimes use canned mango puree instead of mangoes, if they arent in season. it turns out fabulous that way, too. oh yea, and i usually refrigerate it for around 3 hours before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dragonfly.1212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate and Raspberry Mousse

See how to make an easy, elegant chocolate and raspberry mousse.

Szechuan Mango Chicken

Learn how to make sweet and spicy Szechuan-style chicken and mango.

Mango Chicken Piccata

What's cooking in Humble, Texas? Sara's tangy chicken piccata.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States