Cuban Green Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I Lived in Tampa all my life. My Dad always made this soup..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
this was very good...i drained the beans and used chicken broth and I added a tomato that was getting soft in the fridge...put in a little cayenne too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very comforting dish and super easy to make. We used thick cut bacon instead of salt pork and added about a cup of beef stock. Also added some hot pepper flakes to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Is there broth missing from the recipe? It was too thick. I was hoping for a lighter, brothy soup. Next time I will add chicken or vegetable broth. Mine looked nothing like the picture....I strained out the canned juice, added chicken broth and had the best tasting soup that I have had in awhile. The canned juice tasted "canny". Veggie or chicken broth did the trick. I can't wait to make it again. Very homey and nourishing. And it is good with home made pepper vineger and a side of hot buttered cornbread. Add a bottomless glass of iced tea and this dish takes a southern turn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I had to make a few modifications. I started with dried Navy beans. After I soaked them I rinsed and drained them. I needed liquid so I added a pint of homemade chicken stock. I couldn't find turnip greens either fresh or frozen so I used some beautiful fresh beet greens. I realize these are significant changes, but I feel one of the things that makes a good recipe is flexibility. It may not be the traditional Cuban dish, but it sure tasted good. I look forward to making it again when I locate turnip greens. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This soup was not the most appetizing to look at, and I was a little bit nervous. But it was sooo good. It tastes nice and rich and buttery from the navy beens. I did add a little vinegar for some punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catherlee
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
fast, easy, economical, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I followed the recipe to a tee and it was delish! Very comforting. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Not having any salt pork, I kind of improvised a bit. I added some crushed garlic, a diced hot pepper, and sliced turkey bacon in with the onion. Then I made a broth of diced tomatoes and water, to which I added a little bit of soy sauce and some hot sauce. The turnip greens were fresh, and I used Great Northern beans. Served with cornmeal muffins this made a full meal- enough to fill my husband up, which is saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! A simple, filling comfort food. I am a Spanish teacher and am bringing this to food day tomorrow for my students.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States