Cuban Green Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I Lived in Tampa all my life. My Dad always made this soup..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
this was very good...i drained the beans and used chicken broth and I added a tomato that was getting soft in the fridge...put in a little cayenne too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very comforting dish and super easy to make. We used thick cut bacon instead of salt pork and added about a cup of beef stock. Also added some hot pepper flakes to give it some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Is there broth missing from the recipe? It was too thick. I was hoping for a lighter, brothy soup. Next time I will add chicken or vegetable broth. Mine looked nothing like the picture....I strained out the canned juice, added chicken broth and had the best tasting soup that I have had in awhile. The canned juice tasted "canny". Veggie or chicken broth did the trick. I can't wait to make it again. Very homey and nourishing. And it is good with home made pepper vineger and a side of hot buttered cornbread. Add a bottomless glass of iced tea and this dish takes a southern turn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
I had to make a few modifications. I started with dried Navy beans. After I soaked them I rinsed and drained them. I needed liquid so I added a pint of homemade chicken stock. I couldn't find turnip greens either fresh or frozen so I used some beautiful fresh beet greens. I realize these are significant changes, but I feel one of the things that makes a good recipe is flexibility. It may not be the traditional Cuban dish, but it sure tasted good. I look forward to making it again when I locate turnip greens. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
This soup was not the most appetizing to look at, and I was a little bit nervous. But it was sooo good. It tastes nice and rich and buttery from the navy beens. I did add a little vinegar for some punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by catherlee
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
fast, easy, economical, very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I followed the recipe to a tee and it was delish! Very comforting. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
Not having any salt pork, I kind of improvised a bit. I added some crushed garlic, a diced hot pepper, and sliced turkey bacon in with the onion. Then I made a broth of diced tomatoes and water, to which I added a little bit of soy sauce and some hot sauce. The turnip greens were fresh, and I used Great Northern beans. Served with cornmeal muffins this made a full meal- enough to fill my husband up, which is saying something!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Marie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
Absolutely fantastic! A simple, filling comfort food. I am a Spanish teacher and am bringing this to food day tomorrow for my students.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Ham and Split Pea Soup

See an easy recipe for making split pea soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States