Cuban Goulash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
I made this recipe as written but added some cumin as suggested by some of the other reviewers. It was tasty but somehow unmemorable. Some more exact guidance with the various spices might be helpful. "To taste" is not much help when one has never tried a recipe before. I would appreciate it if the person who originally posted this recipe would specify how much cayenne, how much pepper, etc. The bananas might not have been enough. Are the bananas in the recipe for flavor, for texture, or both? I'm not familiar with plantains, so would they have been better to use? I think this recipe could be better, I just don't know how to improve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Very yummy and easy to make and cheap which is always good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
I was interesting and tasty but I can't see myself making it again. Must be the bananas...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Barrington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
We had something similar while on vacation in the Dominican Republic. I substituted plantains for the bananas and it was simply wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I was looking for something "different" and decided to try this. I had all the ingredients but after reading ALL the reviews, I decided to embellish. I am amazed that some would add water and then claim no flavor! Really? Duh!! Added to the recipe as posted...Cumin, Sazon and Italian seasonings and went ahead and salt and peppered. Added 2 cups Italian diced tomatoes and 1 can mild Rotel and a couple of splashes of V-8 juice. Diced up a sweet potato I had as well for added sweetness. I threw in some Elbow Macaroni and a handful of Quinoa and cooked it right in the same huge covered skillet which soaked up the juice nicely. No need to cook noodles separate and dirty up more pots! The pasta and quinoa is so much more flavorful cooked right in with the recipe! This was FANTASTIC on our 1st 2013 COLD Florida day (32 degrees) :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I was intrigued by this recipe, but it was pretty gross.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Not sure why this showed up under Canadian recipes. It was good. Not used to having a sweeter goulash. Worth a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This was very interesting. I just didn't love the flavors enough to ever make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This was just delicious! Used 2 bananas, +1# country ribs, and 4 cups diced tomatoes because that was what I had! I also didn't have onion that day, so I used onion powder and added cumin. My whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I followed this recipe, except i added three mild chili peppers, an extra can of tomatoes,and some cumin. The flavors together are a good combination, but my husband and I both found it way too sweet with so much banana. I will make this again, with a little extra tweaking. I will maybe use only half of one banana instead of a pound. It also needs a little spice so I will still use some chili peppers, or maybe a tiny bit of chili sauce or paste. Its a good starter recipe though and seems to be pretty versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cuban Sandwich

See how to make a Cuban-style pork sandwich.

How to Make Beef Goulash

See how to make a succulent, saucy Hungarian beef stew.

Real Hungarian Goulash

See how to make authentic, comforting Hungarian beef goulash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States